Picturing history: Hyde Park, Iowa

Return To Article
Add a comment
  • ssev Maple Grove, MN
    April 19, 2017 6:02 p.m.

    The writer likely already knows that seniority in the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in August 1844 was, in order:

    Brigham Young, Heber C. Kimball, Orson Hyde, Parley P. Pratt, William Smith, Orson Pratt, John Taylor, John E. Page, Wilford Woodruff, George A. Smith, Willard Richards, Lyman Wight, and Amasa M. Lyman.

    Brigham Young realigned the seniority in the Quorum of the Twelve Apostle, so that, on April 10, 1875, John Taylor became President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, removing Orson Hyde from the position in which he had served since Dec. 27, 1847, a period of over 27 years. The reason given for the realignment was the earlier disfellowshipment of Hyde for about 2 months in 1839.

    Prior to this, Joseph received a revelation that sent Hyde to Israel instead of to Europe with the other apostles. Hyde's desire to bring the Jews unto Zion led him to prophesy and offer dedicatory prayers in Israel. This was the desire of Hyde's heart, although the prophesies were never fulfilled.