Six names, including the Republican Party front-runner in the fall election, were nominated for interim Davis County commissioner Wednesday night by the party's central committee.

The GOP central committee is charged under state law with submitting six candidates to replace Glen E. Saunders, who resigned last month and was appointed as county clerk.The six names will be formally submitted to the two remaining commissioners Thursday, county party chairman Steve Smoot said. The commission is expected to name an interim commissioner next week.

Leading the list of candidates is Gayle Stevenson, a Davis School District administrator who has already announced his candidacy for the position and who received 81 percent of the vote at the GOP's county convention in May, assuring himself of a place on the ballot in November.

Other names are Karlynn Hinman, Dub Lawrence, Bud Cox, Jan Ukena, and Nathanial C. Johnson.

Hinman, a Farmington attorney, was nominated from the floor at Thursday's session, Smoot said.

Ukena also submitted her name as a nominee for county clerk.

Lawrence, a former Democrat who served as Davis County Sheriff, is now a Republican and is also running for the county commission.

Cox is a captain in the county sheriff's department, and Johnson has run previously for a seat on the Layton City Council.