BYU Photo
Brian Matthews is one of the 39 Cougars that received MSPF Indoor Track & Field All-American honors.

Thirty-nine BYU track and field athletes were named Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) Indoor Track & Field All-Academic honorees when the MPSF released its academic awards Friday afternoon.

The women’s team tied with Stanford University and the University of Utah for the most honorees with 21 athletes receiving All-Academic honors. The men’s team had the second most honorees with 18. To be nominated for MPSF All-Academic honors, student-athletes must have a 3.00 or better cumulative grade point average, be at least a sophomore academically, completed a full year at BYU prior to the season and competed in at least 50 percent of BYU’s track and field competitions throughout the 2019 indoor season.

The full release of the MSPF All-Academic individual honorees can be found on

Comment on this story

Women’s All-Academic individuals: Erica-Birk Jarvis, Maddie Cannon, Alena Ellsworth, Lauren Ellsworth, Amanda Erickson, Emma Gee, Kaitlyn Gunnerson-Burrup, Karina Haymore, Olivia Hoj, Kate Hunter, Dailyn Johnson-Tufuga, Sable Lohmeier, Isabel Neal, McKenna Neyman, Brenna Porter, Lauren Rawlinson, Haley Rogers, Elise Romney, Andrea Stapleton-Johnson, Kyndal Pothier and Leah Thompson.

Men’s All-Academic individuals: Michael Bluth, Clark Brown, Dennis Christensen, Marcus Dickson, Talem Franco, Jake Heslington, Jefferson Jarvis, Conner Mantz, Brian Matthews, Scott Mecham, Matt Owens, Connor Ross, Jameson Shirley, Clayson Shumway, Kyle Strauss, Caleb Witsken, Colten Yardley and Clayton Young.