1 of 2
Bob McLellan, Shooting Star
Coach Shelley Jarrard watches during a Westminster women's basketball game.

ATLANTA — On Monday, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced the 2018-19 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II Region Coaches of the Year and National Coach of the Year. Westminster head women's basketball coach Shelley Jarrard was named the WBCA South Central Region Coach of the Year. All eight region coaches were finalists for National Coach of the Year, which went to Molly Miller of Drury University.

The WBCA Region Coaches of the Year are:

Jonathon Barbaree, Anderson University (Southeast Region)

Betsy Harris, Florida Southern College (South Region)

Jackie Hartzell, University of the Sciences in Philadelphia (East Region)

Tony Hobson, Fort Hays State University (Central Region)

Shelley Jarrard, Westminster College (South Central Region)

Molly Miller, Drury University (Midwest Region) - National Coach of the Year

Kenny Osborne, Concord University (Atlantic Region)

Heidi VanDerveer, University of California — San Diego (West Region)

Jarrard guided the Griffins to their first-ever appearance in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC) Tournament and the NCAA DII Tournament. The Griffins started the season 2-2 then went on a 13-game winning streak and finished the year 17-5 in the RMAC and second place in the regular season. The Griffins made it to the RMAC tournament finals as the No. 2 seed and qualified for the NCAA DII tournament as the No. 5 seed in the South Central Region, finishing the year with a 21-9 overall record.

Comment on this story

Jarrard has coached the Griffins for eight seasons, since 2011, and has a career record of 164-67 and a .710 win percentage. As a former NAIA member, the women's basketball program won four consecutive Frontier Conference Championships (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) and three consecutive Frontier Conference Tournament Championships (2012, 2013, 2014) and twice made the second round (2011, 2014) and the quarter finals (2012, 2013) of the NAIA National Championships. The program completed a three year transition from NAIA to DII (2015-2018) and was made an official member of the NCAA DII on Sept. 1, 2018, and eligible for post season play. The team has steadily improved under Jarrard from a 9-13 RMAC record in 2015-16 to 17-5 this season with three players being named All-RMAC First Team: senior Denise Gonzalez, redshirt junior Olivia Eliss and sophomore Hunter Krebs.