1 of 3
Jeffrey D. Allred, Deseret News
Utah Utes guard Sedrick Barefield (2) shoots by the Arizona Wildcats in Salt Lake City on Thursday, Feb. 14, 2019.

SALT LAKE CITY — Utah guard Sedrick Barefield has received first-team all-conference recognition from the Pac-12. The senior from Corona, California led the Utes to the No. 3 seed in this week’s Pac-12 Tournament with team-high averages in points (17.2), assists (3.8) and steals (1.0).

Utah coach Larry Krystkowiak said he was “just really proud of him for being such a catalyst in our team’s success.”

The Utes finished 17-13 overall and 11-7 in Pac-12 play. They’ll play Oregon or Washington State Thursday (9:30 p.m., ESPN) at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

Barefield, a transfer from SMU, became just the 39th player in program history to score 1,000 or more points in his career. He joins Delon Wright (2013-14 and 2014-15), Jakob Poeltl (2015-16), Kyle Kuzma (2016-17) and Justin Bibbins (2017-18) as the only Utah players to earn first-team honors from the Pac-12. Brandon Taylor (2014-15) is the only second-team selection since the Utes joined the conference in 2011.

Besides Barefield, this year’s all-conference first-team honorees include Tyler Bey (Colorado), Bennie Boatwright (USC), Zylan Cheatham (Arizona State), Robert Franks (Washington State), Jaylen Nowell (Washington), KZ Okpala (Stanford), Matisse Thybulle (Washington), Tres Tinkle (Oregon State) and McKinley Wright IV (Colorado).

The second team was comprised of Luguentz Dort (Arizona State), Jaylen Hands (UCLA), Remy Martin (Arizona State), Stephen Thompson Jr. (Oregon State) and Kris Wilkes (UCLA).

Utah’s Donnie Tillman was named Pac-12 Sixth Man of the Year. The 6-foot-7 forward from Detroit averages 10.3 points and 5.3 rebounds.

“It’s an amazing honor,” Tillman said on the Pac-12 Network. “My teammates put me in great position and things like that.”

Tillman is the first Utah player to win the award.

Other individual accolades awarded by the Pac-12 include:

— PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Nowell, Washington.

— JOHN R. WOODEN COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Hopkins, Washington.

6 comments on this story

— DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Thybulle, Washington.

— FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Dort, Arizona State.


— SIXTH MAN OF THE YEAR: Tillman, Utah.

* * * * *

ALLEN HONORED: Timmy Allen made history this season as Utah’s first player to make the Pac-12’s All-Freshman team. The 6-foot-6 forward from Mesa, Arizona, averaged 12.2 points and 5.3 rebounds.

Allen was joined on the all-freshman squad by Moses Brown (UCLA), Dort (Arizona State), CJ Elleby (Washington State) and Louis King (Oregon).