HEBER CITY — Colorado's Windsor High School won the Rockwell Rumble for the second straight year as Layton and Wasatch finished second and third, respectively.

Millard was the leader after day one but the Eagles didn't have the star power to stay in contention, though Calun Whitaker did bring home the gold in the 220-pound weight class. His teammate Van Bray (126) finished second as the Eagles finished in fourth place in the team race.

But Windsor did have the individuals to penetrate far into the bracket and took control on the second day, scoring 209.5 points to easily scoot past Layton (172.5) and Wasatch (169.5) at the Wasatch County Event Complex in Heber City. Vance VomBaur (126), Dominick Serrano (132) and Isaiah Salazar (182) all climbed to the top of the podium for Windsor.

The Wasatch Wasps did crown three individual champions as Stockton O'Brien (138 pounds), Zak Kohler (145) and Porter Chamberlain (170) earned gold medals. River Wardle (120) fell just short, losing to Bear River's Scott Robertson.

Layton didn't crown any champions — though Tyson Humpherys (132) finished second — but the Lancers did have six place-winners.

Rounding out the top ten were Uintah (151.5) in fifth, Box Elder (142.5) in sixth, Liberty, Arizona (129.5) in seventh, Payson (127.5) in eighth, Bear River (123) in ninth and Cimarron Memorial, Nevada (113) in tenth. All total, 76 schools had wrestlers compete in the Rockwell Rumble.

Out-of-state wrestlers for the second straight year accounted for a good share of the individual titles, but Beehive State titlists also included North Summit's Tyler Scheurn (152), Olympus' Isaac Wilcox (160), and Box Elder's Ryan Gunn (285).

Gunn's match against Spanish Fork's Sam Dawe was particularly exciting, going to the ultimate tiebreaker where the Bee wrestler finally prevailed 8-5. Gunn was able to avenge his only loss of the season after he fell to Dawe in a tight battle at the Dollamur All-Star Dual the previous week.

Comment on this story

Injuries and illness was a big part of the story as several returning state champions missed action including Westlake's Jacob Finlinson (120), American Leadership Academy's Quenton Mortimer (132), Orem's Cooper Legas (195) and two-time state champion Maika Tauteoli (220) of Pleasant Grove. But the biggest absences were Layton's Terrell Barraclough (138) and Altamont's McKay Foy, seniors gunning for their fourth state titles.

Complete team and individual results can be found at www.trackwrestling.com.