DSU Athletics
DSU announces inductees for its 10th Athletic Hall of Fame class.

Dixie State University Athletics announced Tuesday the four newest inductees into its Athletic Hall of Fame. The 10th Hall of Fame class will be inducted in a special ceremony on Saturday, January 26, 2019, at the DSU Gardner Center Ballroom beginning at 11 a.m. Admission to the ceremony is free and open for all to attend.

The 2019 DSU Athletic Hall of Fame class includes five-sport standout Lynn Christensen (1963-65), women’s soccer and basketball player Betsy Fowler (1997-99), long-time coach and faculty member Gordon Jolley (1985-2017) and the 2004 NJCAA national championship baseball team.

Below is information on the 2019 Hall of Fame class:

Lynn Christensen (1963-65)

Christensen was a five-sport star at Dixie College, lettering in football, basketball, baseball, track and tennis in his two years in St. George. He was an all-ICAC selection at running back and was part of the 1963 perfect season led by legendary head football coach and DSU Hall of Famer Sark Arslanian. In addition, Christensen earned the 1964 Las Vegas Bowl “Outstanding Back” award and helped lead Dixie to an ICAC men’s tennis title on his way to being named the 1965 Dixie College Athlete of the Year.

Christensen, who also played football under Arslanian at Weber State, then went on to become a successful high school basketball coach for more than three decades in Washington County. He led Hurricane HS to a state title and guided Pine View HS to eight region championships and numerous state playoff appearances. In addition, Christensen was presented with the Utah Sports Hall of Fame Foundation’s “Distinguished Coach” Award in 2012, and he was inducted into the Utah Softball Hall of Fame in 2013.

Betsy Fowler (1996-97)

Fowler was a two-sport athlete for two seasons at Dixie College, where she was an all-Scenic West Conference selection in basketball and an Academic All-America pick in soccer. In addition, she was named the 1997 Dixie College Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She went on to Brigham Young University, where she served as student body vice president and eventually earned a Juris Doctorate with honors from the BYU J. Reuben Clark School of Law.

Gordon Jolley (1985-2017)

Jolley was a part of the Dixie State fabric for more than 30 years, serving as the offensive coordinator for the Rebel football team for 21 seasons (1985-2005) and as the head baseball coach for 10 seasons (1985-95). He helped lead the Dixie football program to 12 Scenic West Athletic Conference titles and several Dixie Rotary Bowl appearances, along with numerous top-10 national rankings. In addition, he guided the Rebel baseball program to four SWAC championships and two NJCAA World Series appearances in 1989 and 1995.

Jolley, who was inducted into the Utah Sports Hall of Fame in 2008, also served as the chair of Dixie College’s physical education department and was a faculty member in the institution’s mathematics department until his retirement in 2017. He was an all-WAC offensive lineman at the University of Utah and played seven seasons in the NFL, including five years with the Detroit Lions and two more seasons with the Seattle Seahawks.

2004 Dixie State baseball team

Led by Dixie State Athletic Hall of Fame head coach Mike Littlewood, the 2004 Rebel baseball team rolled to a 51-14 overall record, which included an 11-game winning streak to open the season, and swept both the Scenic West Athletic Conference regular season and postseason championships. Dixie State then served as the West region representative at the 2004 NJCAA World Series, where the Rebels posted two come-from-behind victories to advance out of the winner’s bracket to face San Jacinto College for the national title.

Comment on this story

After dropping the first game to force a winner-take-all finale, Dixie State rebounded with a 4-3 triumph over the Gators to clinch its first-ever baseball national championship. Five players were drafted by Major League Baseball organizations after that 2004 season, most notably 2017 DSU Athletic Hall of Famer and current Chicago Cubs reliever Brandon Kintzler, who in 2017 became the first Dixie State player to be selected to play in the MLB All-Star Game while as a member of the Minnesota Twins.

The Dixie State Athletic Hall of Fame currently features 33 individual inductees, including coaches, student-athletes, administrators, staff and volunteers. In addition, three championship-winning teams have also been enshrined.