Stock image
Five people have been nominated to fill a vacancy on the 3rd District Court resulting from the confirmation of Judge Ryan Harris to the Utah Court of Appeals.

SALT​ ​LAKE​ ​CITY​ ​—​ ​The​ ​3rd​ ​District​ ​Judicial​ ​Nominating​ ​Commission​ ​has​ ​selected​ ​nominees for​ ​a​ ​vacancy​ ​on​ ​the​ ​3rd​ ​District​ ​Court resulting​ ​from​ ​the​ ​confirmation​ ​of​ ​Judge Ryan​ ​Harris​ ​to​ ​the​ ​Utah​ ​Court​ ​of​ ​Appeals in July.​

The​ ​nominees​ ​for​ ​the​ ​vacancy​ ​are:​ ​Rod​ ​Andreason,​ ​shareholder,​ ​Kirton​ ​McConkie;​ ​Robert Hughes,​ ​of​ ​counsel,​ ​Parsons​ ​Behle​ ​&​ ​Latimer;​ ​Chelsea​ ​Koch,​ ​attorney,​ ​A.​ ​Chelsea​ ​Koch; Adam​ ​Mow,​ ​shareholder and attorney,​ ​Jones​ ​Waldo​ ​Holbrook​ ​&​ ​McDonough;​ ​Richard​ ​Mrazik, attorney,​ ​Parsons​ ​Behle​ ​&​ ​Latimer.

Written​ ​comments​ ​can​ ​be​ ​submitted​ ​to​ ​Kim​ ​Cordova, head of the 3rd​ ​District​ ​Judicial​ ​Nominating​ ​Commission​, ​​at​ ​​[email protected]​​ ​or​ ​Commission​ ​on​ ​Criminal​ ​and​ ​Juvenile​ ​Justice, P.O.​ ​Box​ ​142330,​ ​Salt​ ​Lake​ ​City,​ ​UT​ ​84114-2330.​ ​​

The​ ​deadline​ ​for​ ​written​ ​comments​ ​is​ ​noon Dec.​ ​11.​ ​The​ ​commission​ ​may​ ​request​ ​further​ ​information​ ​or​ ​conduct​ ​an investigation​ ​of​ ​the​ ​nominees​ ​after​ ​reviewing​ ​public​ ​comments.​ ​​

Comment on this story

After​ ​the​ ​public​ ​comment period,​ ​the​ ​names​ ​will​ ​be​ ​sent​ ​to​ ​Gov.​ ​Gary ​Herbert,​ ​who​ ​will​ ​have​ ​30​ ​days​ ​to​ ​make​ ​an appointment.​ ​Herbert’s​ ​appointee​ ​is​ ​subject​ ​to​ ​confirmation​ ​by​ ​the​ ​Utah​ ​Senate. ​The​ ​3rd​ ​Judicial​ ​District​ ​includes​ ​Salt Lake,​ ​Summit​ ​and​ ​Tooele​ ​counties.