university of utah, sign, campus, utah, dnwebteam

SALT LAKE CITY — The University of Utah’s 10-member board of trustees welcomed five new members July 1. In addition to the regular rotation of the alumni and student body presidents, three new appointments were made to replace Lisa Eccles, Cristina Ortega and Taft Price.

The new trustees are David Parkin, Katie Eccles, Anne-Marie Wright Lampropoulos, Joseph Sargetakis, president of the alumni association, and Zach Berger, student body president.

Lisa Eccles and Price have completed their regular terms, and Ortega was appointed to serve on the Utah State Board of Regents.

The new members were appointed by Gov. Gary Herbert and were selected for their strong community involvement, varied expertise and commitment to the university.

“I am so grateful to Lisa, Cristina and Taft for their dedication and service to the University of Utah,” U. President David W. Pershing said in a statement. “I will miss them, but I look forward to working with our new trustees, whose perspectives and insights will be incredibly valuable as our institution moves forward.”

Parkin is co-founder and partner at Tower Arch Capital, a $272 million private equity fund, where he evaluates new and existing investments for the fund and leads the firm’s investor relations. He earned a bachelor’s degree in finance from the U.

Katie Eccles is an attorney and “of counsel” at Ray, Quinney & Nebeker. Eccles graduated from Stanford University with a bachelor’s degree in history and a J.D. from Stanford Law School.

1 comment on this story

Lampropoulos currently serves as vice president of corporate communications for Merit Medical Systems Inc. She earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from Columbia University and a master’s degree at Columbia Journalism School.

Sargetakis is the owner of Frog Bench Farms in Sugar House. He earned a bachelor’s degree in organizational communications from the U.

Berger attended East High School before attending the U. He is pursuing a bachelor’s in honors English and minor in political science.