Salt Lake civic worker Nancy Giles heads a new slate of officers and board members of the United Way of the Great Salt Lake Area, which Thursday honored several volunteers.

Giles, who last fall became chairman of the board following the death of Joe Ahlin, was re-elected to another three-year term and will continue as chairman.The agency's annual meeting and board business were conducted at Northwest Pipeline offices in Salt Lake City.

Other members of the executive committee besides Giles include Ken Hill, chairman of community affairs and education, who is Utah public relations manager for US WEST Communications, and Phyllis Safman, planning and allocations chairman. She is director of academic programs for the University of Utah Division of Continuing Education.

Ross E. Kendell, president of Key Bank, was named earlier this year as chairman of the 1988-89 United Way campaign.

Retiring board members honored were Val MacMurray, executive director of the Thrasher Research Fund, which is administered by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; Salt Lake County Commissioner Mike Stewart; Scott Hansen, account executive, Hurst & Phillips Advertising; and Janice Treml, executive director, Salt Lake Community Nursing Service/Hospice of Salt Lake, who has served as the ex-officio representative of United Way-funded agencies on the board of directors.

Also honored were Wm. James Mortimer, Deseret News editor and publisher, who was chairman of the 1987 campaign that raised $4.5 million; Ted Fox, vice president, St. Mark's Hospital, who was planning and allocations chairman; Hill; James R. Herbster, vice president for administration, Northwest Pipeline Corp., who was administration chairman; and Margaret Billings, attorney and civic worker, who was community needs chairman.

Hill and Fox have another two years and Mortimer, one year, on the board.

New directors elected to three-year terms were Patricia A. Richards, senior vice president, First Security Bank trust department; Andy Gallegos, director, Minority Business Development Center; and 5th Circuit Judge William Thorne.

Others who were re-elected to three-year terms: Harris Simmons, president, Zions Utah Bancorporation; Ed Mayne, president, Utah State AFL-CIO; and Mark Miller, owner of Mark Miller Pontiac and Subaru.