1 of 11
Jacob Wiegand, Deseret News
Layton’s Terrell Barraclough is recognized after winning his Class 6A 126 matchup during the UHSAA 5A/6A State Wrestling Championships at the Utah Valley University in Orem on Thursday, Feb. 8, 2018.
We dominated this year. We pretty much locked down the state title yesterday (Wednesday). It felt really good. I am super happy with this team. —Pleasant Grove's William ‘Cole’ Zorn

OREM — It didn’t take very long for the Pleasant Grove Vikings to regain their place at the top of the wrestling world.

One season after watching their six-year run of titles end, the Vikings are back on top, having proven to be too much for the rest of 6A wrestling.

Pleasant Grove finished with 283.0 total points at the end of the two days of competition at UVU’s UCCU center, 80.5 points ahead of second place Layton (202.5).

William ‘Cole’ Zorn (132) and two-time defending champion Maika Tauteoli (220) each secured an individual title for the Vikings, with Zeke Kelley (113), Oakley Ridge (120), Luis Garcia (132), Anthony Ridge (138), Jaxon Moore (152), Harrison Sperry (160) all finishing as runners-up.

“We dominated this year,” said Zorn. “We pretty much locked down the state title yesterday (Wednesday). It felt really good. I am super happy with this team.”

Layton was led by champions Terrell Barraclough (126) and Tyson Humphreys (138) in what proved a futile title defense.

Following the Lancers in the team race were the Herriman Mustangs, who finished with 200.0 points.

“The 13 (wrestlers) we had gave it their all,” Herriman senior and two-time defending champion Logan Jensen (152) said. “That first round we all had bonus points and we didn’t go out the first day so I think we did really well.”

Rounding out the top five were the Bingham Miners (166.5) and the Syracuse Titans (159.5).

Nothing spoke to the sheer dominance of Pleasant Grove throughout the competition more than the 132-pound title match, which pitted Zorn against his Viking teammate Garcia.

Despite their shared school, the wrestlers hadn’t faced each other often, not even in practice.

“We have actually only wrestled each other in practice twice ever,” said Zorn. “(Luis) is a stud so I’m happy about that.”

The match itself was extremely competitive, with Zorn pulling out a 3-1 decision.

“Luis is something else. He is really strong and a crazy athlete,” said Zorn. “I knew I had it tough coming in, especially coming off the loss (at Divisionals) last week. I just had a game plan to stay on my match and not let (the loss) affect me and it worked out.”

The title marked the first for Zorn in his Pleasant Grove career, a fact he was quick to note.

“Taking second last year was obviously not very fun, so I just wanted to get a (title) this year,” said Zorn. “I got it and it feels really good.”

The same could be said for Tauteoli’s individual title, which saw him defeat a tough Keala Mahe, out of Hillcrest High School, and doubled as the second state championship of his career.

“It feels good,” said Tauteoli.

Notable state champs, not from Pleasant Grove, included three-time winner Cole Moody (Bingham), Jensen, who won back-to-back state titles, and Weber’s Brady Briskey.

When it was all said and done, however, the night belonged to the Vikings.

“We’ve been working really hard this year and we deserve it,” said Zorn. “(Winning) is a lot of fun.”

Class 6A

Team scores

1. Pleasant Grove 283.0; 2. Layton 202.5; 3. Herriman 200.0; 4. Bingham 166.5; 5. Syracuse 159.5; 6. American Fork 146.0; 7. Fremont 120.5; 8. Weber 80.5; 9. Davis 59.0; 9. Hunter 59.0.

Individual results

106 — Championship: River Wardle (Herriman) 32-3, Fr. over Gage Ogden (Herriman) 18-7, Fr. (Fall 5:18); 3. Marco Herrera, Bingham; 4. Aiden Harris, Layton; 5. Nathan Bartholomew, American Fork; 6. Hayden Wilcox, Fremont.

113 — Championship: Jacob Finlinson (Westlake) 26-6, Fr. over Zeke Kelley (Pleasant Grove) 35-13, Fr. (MD 14-5); 3. Brayden Warne, Hunter; 4. Jeff Rogers, West Jordan; 5. Fremont, Forfeit; 6. Fremont, Forfeit.

120 — Championship: Kegan Leatherow (Fremont) 45-5, Sr. over Oakley Ridge (Pleasant Grove) 39-8, So. (SV-1 7-5); 3. Coalton Jackson, Fremont; 4. Parker Coffey, Davis; 5. Hadley Young, Bingham; 6. Hayden Wilson, American Fork.

126 — Championship: Terrell Barraclough (Layton) 38-5, Jr. over Rhett Miner (American Fork) 44-6, Jr. (Fall 3:19); 3. Easton Halliday, Herriman; 4. Bridger Ostler, Syracuse; 5. Tristan Hendrickson, Herriman; 6. Andrew Easdale, Hunter.

132 — Championship: William Cole Zorn (Pleasant Grove) 19-5, Jr. over Luis Garcia (Pleasant Grove) 32-10, Sr. (Dec 3-1); 3. Kam Moss, Bingham; 4. Colby Bowden, Fremont; 5. Tyler Dennis, Northridge; 6. Isaac Fisher, Layton.

138 — Championship: Tyson Humpherys (Layton) 33-9, So. over Anthony Ridge (Pleasant Grove) 31-12, Sr. (Fall 0:45); 3. Dylan Chavez, Herriman; 4. Payton Clark, Bingham; 5. Mitch Parker, Syracuse; 6. Paden Memmott, Layton

145 — Championship: Josh Bartholomew (American Fork) 54-5, Sr. over Braden Henson (Taylorsville) 28-8, Jr. (Dec 6-4); 3. Jaxon Wardle, Bingham; 4. Canyon Brann, Layton; 5. Dan Waddoups, Davis; 6. Chase Walker, Hunter.

152 — Championship: Logan Jensen (Herriman) 22-1, Sr. over Jaxon Moore (Pleasant Grove) 32-15, Jr. (MD 20-10); 3. Alec Bolingbroke, Layton); 4. Damon Dodson, Pleasant Grove; 5. Samuel Sprehn, Syracuse; 6. Elijah Wilson, American Fork.

160 — Championship: Caleb Schulte (Taylorsville) 33-3, Sr. over Harrison Sperry (Pleasant Grove) 28-11, Sr. (Dec 3-2); 3. Cole Faust, Layton; 4. Carson Bowdren, Herriman; 5. Trendon Dunn, Davis; 6. Tyler Long, Weber.

170 — Championship: Mason Christiansen (Bingham) 34-6, So. over Jeff Hardy (Fremont) 36-9, Sr. (MD 14-2); 3. Connor Sandstrom, American Fork; 4. Brendan Barrett, Layton; 5. Zachary Obray, West Jordan; 6. Lochlan Pearce, Weber.

182 — Championship: Cole Moody (Bingham) 40-3, Sr. over Jayden Burton (Syracuse) 37-5, Sr. (Fall 2:39); 3. Zachary Durbano, Weber; 4. Dakota Buckner, Copper Hills; 5. Joe Kresge, Pleasant Grove; 6. Miguel Castillo, Kearns.

195 — Championship: Tucker Bartels (Syracuse) 22-2, Sr. over Tristan Carman (Herriman) 34-7, Sr. (Dec 3-2); 3. Weston Memmott, Layton); 4. Brevan Butterfield, Bingham; 5. Sterling Hansen, Riverton; 6. Anthony Stockwell, Westlake.

220 — Championship: Maika Tauteoli (Pleasant Grove) 36-2, Jr. over Keala Mahe (Hillcrest) 30-5, Sr. (Dec 7-4); 3. Michael Gullion, Syracuse; 4. Mafi Mahuinga, Herriman; 5. Jon Hunt, Layton; 6. Robert ‘Bobby’ George, Syracuse.

285 — Championship: Brady Briskey (Weber) 26-1, Sr. over Ian Filoso (American Fork) 49-10, Sr. (Fall 1:34); 3. Keegan Wilkinson, Pleasant Grove; 4. Sam Carson, Pleasant Grove; 5. Kaden Montano, Syracuse; 6. Weston Warr, Fremont.

TWITTER: @trentdwood