Westminster College Athletics is one step closer to active NCAA Division II membership with a vote of the DII membership committee to advance Griffins to the third and final year of the provisional process. Westminster received notification from the NCAA Division II Membership Committee that the program successfully completed provisional year two in 2016–17 and was recommended to advance to provisional year three.

“We are thrilled to enter the final step in becoming full members of NCAA Division II," said Stephen Morgan, president of Westminster College. “Our transition to an NCAA Division II school will provide so many more opportunities for our talented student-athletes and our campus community as a whole.”

Active membership in NCAA Division II is a three-year process with the Griffins participating in provisional year three during the upcoming 2017–18 athletic year.

The Griffins will enter their third season as a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference in 2017–18. Per conference rules, the Griffins will not be eligible to participate in any conference postseason events that have an automatic qualifier for the NCAA Championships, and they will not be eligible for NCAA II postseason play.

If all requirements are met by the Department of Athletics in 2017–18, Westminster will move on to active membership status in 2018–19 and be allowed to compete in postseason play in all NCAA sponsored sports

"This is very positive news for the college, our student-athletes and coaches," said Shay Wyatt, Westminster's director of athletics. "This approval is due to the efforts of many on our campus. This is another accomplishment toward active membership in NCAA Division II and the RMAC, which will further enhance the college and the experience for our student-athletes."

The Division II Membership Committee also recommended the progression of four other schools that are working through the membership process and will add five new full members in the fall. Auburn Montgomery, Biola, Davenport and Purdue Northwest were approved to begin the second year of membership process. The committee voted to advance Cal State San Marcos, Concordia (California), Concordia Portland, Embry-Riddle (Florida) and Oklahoma Baptist to active Division II membership after the schools completed the required process. As active members, these schools will be eligible to compete in NCAA championships and vote at the NCAA Convention, among other benefits. With the approval of the NCAA II Management Council, all changes will take effect Sept. 1.