1 of 16
Scott G Winterton, Deseret News
Kaden Amano, Layton

Note: The Deseret News picks Mr. Soccer and the MVPs, but the remainder of the all-state teams are based on coaches votes.

Here's a look at the 2017 Deseret News 5A all-state soccer team as voted on by the coaches.

Mr. Soccer

Kaden Amano, Layton, MF, Sr.

Led Layton to the 5A state title by recording 8 goals and 7 assists. Was the link that kept the midfield and front line together. Great leader on and off the field.


Sam Hunter, Layton, GK, Sr.

Recorded 10 shutouts and only allowed seven goals in leading Layton to the 5A state championship. Made a PK save in the championship shootout.

5A First Team


Nathan Mumford, American Fork, Jr. — 13 goals, 6 assists

Aaron Nixon, Copper Hills, Sr. — 12 goals, 5 assists

Isaiah Cardoso, Bingham, Sr. — Great left foot, very aggressive

Tyler Gundred, Lone Peak, Sr. — Led team with 6 game-winning goals


Carter Johnson, Herriman, Jr. — 13 goals, 15 assists

Carlos Becerra, Copper Hills, Sr. — 13 goals, 9 assists

Cameron Jolley, American Fork, Sr. — 10 goals, great vision

Leo Sobreira, Bingham, Sr. — Bingham’s leading scorer


Jaxson Ruff, Herriman, Sr. — Anchored defense

Blaine Chambers, Layton, Sr. — Anchored D with 10 shutouts

Nate Devenberg, Bingham, Jr. — Aggressive, great 1v1 defender

Jeff Nigbur, Copper Hills, Sr. — Heart & soul of defense


JD Myers, Herriman, Jr. — 8 shutouts, 12 goals against

Oliver Vidana, Copper Hills, Sr. — 6 shutouts

5A Second Team


Ethan Alexander, Herriman, Sr.

Jojea Kwizera, West Jordan, Sr.

Colton Harrison, Davis, Sr.

Carson Ecalono, Pleasant Grove, So.


Easton Embley, Layton, Sr.

David Brog, Brighton, Jr.

Logan Beus, Lone Peak, Sr.

Joshua Ubico, Hunter, Sr.


Sam Angus, Herriman, Sr.

Matthew Rich, American Fork, Sr.

Braxton Ferrin, Weber, Sr.

Sam McCalla, Davis, Sr.


Tanner Kennard, Davis, Jr.

Tyler Trump, Viewmont, Sr.

5A Honorable Mention


Micah Hammond, Riverton, Sr.

Drake Cook, Viewmont, Sr.

Kolton Johnson, Herriman, Fr.

Max Price, Weber, Jr.

Alec Ferrin, Fremont, Sr.

Eric Morris, Weber, Jr.


Zahir Vazquez, Roy, Jr.

Aaron Jolley, American Fork, Fr.

Ben Gonzalez, Copper Hills, Sr.

Kofi Herrick, Fremont, Jr.

Joshua Crestani, Jordan, Jr.

Marshall Johnson, Viewmont, Sr.

Caleb Hanssen, Lone Peak, Sr.


Dawson Meldrum, Lone Peak, Jr.

Jackson Paul, Brighton, Sr.

Seth Alonso, Copper Hills, Sr.

Mason Glassett, Jordan, Jr.

Bryson Ferrin, Weber, Jr.

Brigham Johnson, Pleasant Grove, Sr.


Preston Taylor, Fremont, Sr.

Jose Rios, Jordan, Sr.

Kenny Hall, Pleasant Grove, Sr.