1 of 2
Scott G Winterton,
Utah's head coach Bill Kinneberg watches his players as Utah plays Washington for the Pac-12 Championship at Smiths Ballpark in Salt Lake City Sunday, May 29, 2016.

On the heels of winning the Pac-12 championship, the University of Utah baseball team was honored by the conference Thursday with numerous individual awards.

In a result that would have been shocking had it had any other outcome, head coach Bill Kinneberg was named coach of the year, while four players were named to the All-Pac-12 Team.

The 13-year head coach of the Utes, Kinneberg received top honors after guiding his team to a 19-11 record in conference play. That followed last-place finishes in each of the team's first four years in the league.

As for the players, sophomore pitcher Jayson Rose, senior shortstop Cody Scaggari, junior third baseman Dallas Carroll and freshman outfielder DaShawn Keirsey Jr. were named to the All-Pac-12 Team. This year marks the first time that any Utah player has been named to the team.

Keirsey Jr. was also named to the All-Defensive team, while junior pitcher Dylan Drachler, senior designated hitter Kellen Marruffo and junior outfielder Josh Rose received honorable-mention recognition.

Thanks to winning the Pac-12, the Utes received an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament where they will open play Friday in the Oxford Regional as a 4-seed against host and top-seeded Ole Miss.

The contest is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. MT.

Ryan McDonald is a sports reporter at DeseretNews.com. Follow him on Twitter @ryanwmcdonald.