BYU received the No. 5 seed for the upcoming Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association national championships and will play No. 12 Oregon State in the first round.

The Cougars (12-4) earned an automatic bid to the national tournament by defeating Colorado in the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference championship on Saturday. BYU, the RMLC third seed, rallied to defeat the top-seeded Buffaloes, 12-8, in Salt Lake City.

We did it! RMLC Champs! Now to get the national trophy! Good job boys! #mcla #rmlc #rmlcchamps #byulacrosse #byu

A video posted by BYULacrosse (@byulacrosse) on

Now it's on to the national championships, which start May 9 and run through May 14 in Orange County, Calif. The first two rounds will take place on the campus of UC Irvine before moving to Chapman University for the semifinals and championship.

BYU is the only MCLA Division I team to make the national championship tournament every season, according to the MCLA. The Cougars have won the national title four times, including in 1997, 2000, 2007 and 2011.

The Cougars and Beavers (11-4) will play May 9 at 8:15 p.m. MDT at UC Irvine. The winner moves on to face the winner of No. 4 Georgia Tech (14-0) vs. No. 13 California (10-6) at either 5 or 7:45 p.m. on May 10 in the quarterfinals.

Oregon State earned an automatic bid to the MCLA championships by winning the Pacific Northwest Collegiate Lacrosse League tournament for the second straight season, defeating rival Oregon 10-8 in the championship game.

On Monday, the Cougars took home several conference honors. BYU attacker Chris Severson was named the RMLC Rookie of the Year, while junior long-stick midfielder Max Neser earned co-defensive player of the year honors. The pair were also named to the All-RMLC first team, along with fellow Cougars Jack Fabrizio (midfielder) and Harrison Wardle (defender).

Email:; Twitter: @brandonljudd