1 of 2
Utah Education Association
Heidi Matthews, a media specialist at Park City's Treasure Mountain Junior High School, was elected as the next president of the Utah Education Association. Her three-year term will begin July 15, 2016.

SALT LAKE CITY — Members of the Utah Education Association, the state's largest teacher's union, elected Heidi Matthews as the next president, UEA officials announced Monday.

Matthews is currently a librarian at Treasure Mountain Junior High School in Park City. She's been a teacher for 28 years and has served as a board member of the National Education Association, representing Utah since 2014. She was also president of the Park City Education Association from 2009 to 2012.

Matthews was elected to serve a three-year term as president in a statewide vote by UEA members. The vote began on March 24 and ended April 15.

Her term begins July 15.

"I'm so honored to have been elected by my peers," Matthews said. "I'm really looking forward to it and honored to have the opportunity."

Matthews succeeds Sharon Gallagher-Fishbaugh, who has been president since 2010 and has served the maximum two terms in the position. Matthews commended Gallagher-Fishbaugh for her leadership in education.

"She's done a great job of developing relationships and advancing our cause, and it's going to be a big act to follow," Matthews said.

UEA members also elected Roger Donohoe as vice president. He has been a teacher in Utah for 23 years and has served as president of the Cache and Piute Education associations. He is currently a science teacher at Cedar Ridge Middle School in Hyde Park.

Donohoe succeeds Tom Nedreberg as vice president.

Matthews said she hopes to continue the organization's "ground up" model of advocacy and governance in supporting teachers across the state.

"As a president, my role is to carry out that direction and support it and work toward our mission. I look forward to doing that with a lot of unity throughout our state," she said.

The UEA also elected five members to its 17-member board of directors: Dan Pitcher, from the Davis School District; Malloy Record, from the Canyons School District; Paula Zsiray, from the Cache County School District; Marjean Wayment, from the Weber School District; and Marty Davis, from the Nebo School District.

Twitter: MorganEJacobsen