1 of 8
Oxford University Press
Terryl L. Givens, Professor of Literature and Religion, University of Richmond. Photo courtesy Oxford University Press.

The Association for Mormon Letters announced honors for publications and other works across a dozen categories at its conference last week on the Brigham Young University-Hawaii campus, from the nearly 50 works, including books, stories, films and screenplays by, for or about members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, that were named as finalists.

This is also the first year the organization had a song lyrics category. The inaugural AML Award for song lyrics went to Brandon Flowers for “The Desired Effect.”

The 2015 AML Award in the comics category went to Brittany Long Olsen for “Dendo: One Year and One Half in Japan.”

In the creative nonfiction category, the award went to Joey Franklin for “My Wife Wants You to Know I’m Happily Married.”

The award in the criticism category went to Jana Riess for “Mormon Popular Culture,” in “The Oxford Handbook of Mormonism.”

“Peace Officer,” directed by Brad Barber and Scott Christopherson, received the film category award.

In the middle-grade novel category, the award went to Christine Hays for “Mothman’s Curse.”

The award in the picture book category went to “Zombelina Dances the Nutcracker” by Kristyn Crow. In the young adult category, the winner was “The Storyspinner” by Becky Wallace.

An AML Award for a novel went to Jennifer Quist for “Sistering.”

Christina Stoddard received the poetry award for her collection titled “Hive.”

In the category of religious nonfiction, the award went to “Traditions of the Fathers: The Book of Mormon as History” by Brant A. Gardner.

The award in the short story category went to “Remainder” by Spencer Hyde, and in the short story collection category, the award went to Karen Rosenbaum for “Mothers, Daughters, Sisters, Wives.”

Two books received the Special Award for Scholarly Publishing: “Dorian: A Peculiar Edition With Annotated Text & Scholarship,” written by Nephi Anderson and edited by Eric W. Jepson, and “The Oxford Handbook of Mormonism,” edited by Terryl L. Givens and Philip L. Barlow.

Phyllis Barber will receive the Smith-Pettit Foundation Award for outstanding contribution and Donald R. Marshall will be presented the Association for Mormon Letters Lifetime Achievement Award, according to a news release.

See associationmormonletters.org for information.

Email: [email protected] Twitter: CTRappleye