The First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles have approved the creation of the Central Eurasian Mission effective July 1, 2015.

This new mission will be formed from divisions of the existing Bulgaria Sofia and Russia Novosibirsk missions. The new mission will be comprised of five branches and will serve the countries of Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

The mission president and his wife will reside in Istanbul, Turkey.

The LDS Church News is an official publication of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The publication's content supports the doctrines, principles and practices of the Church.