Scott G Winterton,
Utah Utes guard Delon Wright (55) gets past Georgetown Hoyas forward Isaac Copeland (11) as Utah and Georgetown play Saturday, March 21, 2015, in the 3rd round of the NCAA tournament in Portland Oregon at the Moda Center.

SALT LAKE CITY — Utah’s Delon Wright won the Bob Cousy Award Friday night as the nation’s top point guard. The senior received the accolade at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards Show in his hometown of Los Angeles.

T.J. McConnell (Arizona), Kevin Pangos (Gonzaga), Tyus Jones (Duke) and Fred VanVleet (Wichita State) were the other finalists for the award

Wright, who averaged 14.5 points, 5.1 assists, 4.9 rebounds, 2.1 steals and 1.0 blocks per game this season, led the Utes to a 26-9 record and their first NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 appearance since 2005.

Prior to winning the Cousy Award, Wright was named to the John R. Wooden and Sporting News All-American teams. He earned second-team recognition from the Associated Press, USBWA and NABC. Other honors include being named USBWA District VIII Player of the Year and a repeat selection on the Pac-12’s all-conference first team. He was also on the Pac-12’s all-defensive team the past two years.

After transferring to Utah from City College of San Francisco, Wright wound up with 1,022 points, 397 rebounds, 352 assists, 155 steals and 77 blocks in two seasons with the Utes.

Wright received the Cousy Award from ESPN’s Jay Williams during a live broadcast from Club Nokia.

When asked what it took to get where he’s at, Wright explained that he first had to go to junior college to work on his grades.

“And I got to the University of Utah and I just kept working and it worked out for me,” Wright said.

Previous winners of the Cousy Award include: Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014); Trey Burke, Michigan (2013); Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012); Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010); Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009); D.J. Augustin, Texas (Texas); Acie Law, Texas A&M (2007); Dee Brown, Illinois (2006); Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005); and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

Twitter: @DirkFacer