1 of 2
Ravell Call, Deseret News
Tyler Haws (3) of Brigham Young leads teammates off the floor after BYU defeated Utah State in NCAA basketball in Logan, Tuesday, Dec. 2, 2014.

A pair of senior guards from the state of Utah — BYU's Tyler Haws and Utah's Delon Wright — made the 50-man Naismith Trophy watch list released Wednesday.

The Naismith Trophy is annually awarded to the men's and women's college basketball players of the year.

Haws has led the Cougars to a 6-2 record to start the 2014-15 season, including a 91-81 victory at Utah State on Tuesday night. In the win over the Aggies, Haws scored 35 points in helping BYU earn its first victory at the Smith Spectrum since 2000.

Haws, also on the Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 list, is averaging 23.8 points per game while shooting 50.8 percent from the field. He's also helped BYU lead the nation in scoring heading into Tuesday night's game. The Cougars are averaging 95.1 points per game.

Wright has guided the No. 25 Utes to a 5-1 start to the season heading into a home matchup against eighth-ranked Wichita State on Wednesday night. The guard is leading Utah this season by averaging 15.3 points, 4.8 assists and 1.8 steals per game.

Before the Utes begin their Pac-12 schedule next month, Wright will have other chances to impress on a big stage in December. In addition to playing rival BYU next week, Utah will face Kansas and UNLV on neutral courts later this month.

Former Cougar Jimmer Fredette won the award in 2011, while ex-Ute Andrew Bogut earned the honor in 2005. Also, second-year Jazz point guard Trey Burke won the Naismith award in 2013 with Michigan.

The Naismith Trophy list will be narrowed to 30 players on Feb. 12, 2015. Ten semifinalists will be named on March 6, then narrowed to four finalists on March 22. The winner will be announced on April 5.

Email: [email protected]; Twitter: @brandonljudd