1 of 4
Johanna Workman
John Aalberg cross-country skis carrying the Olympic torch from Sunset to Sunrise point in Bryce Canyon National Park, Monday, February 4, 2002.

PARK CITY — The Alf Engen Museum Foundation inducted four members into the Intermountain Ski Hall of Fame in a ceremony Thursday night at the Alf Engen Ski Museum.

The foundation considers people who were outstanding skiing/snowboarding competitors, innovators or made other major contributions to the skiing community in Utah, Idaho or Wyoming for induction. The foundation choose four members for this, its 13th class.

Spencer F. Eccles and Wilby Durham fall into the innovator category. Eccles, a former member of the University of Utah and U.S. ski teams, helped organize the 2002 Salt Lake Winter Games. Durham (1913-2000) promoted ski tourism and created the Deseret News Ski School to provide free skiing instruction.

John Aalberg and Herold Seeholzer earned their way to recognition through competition or by being a pioneer. Aalberg was a NCAA cross-country champion and two-time Olympic competitor. Seeholzer (1902-1968) helped create and owned the Beaver Mountain ski area.

TWITTER: UtahMortReport

BLOG: TheMortreport.com