SALT LAKE CITY — After only managing a 71 amid the swirling winds at Bonneville Golf Course a day earlier, Joe Parkinson felt like he played well enough to shoot 10-under-par Sunday afternoon in the second round of the Richard C. Kramer Salt Lake City Amateur.

It turned out a 6-under-par 66 was good enough to capture the trophy as Parkinson edged 15-year-old Rhett Rasmussen by one shot with a 137 total.

“I told myself if it wasn’t going to be windy today, I had to go low — somewhere between 64 and 66,’’ he said. “I hit the ball exceptional, really good today. I only missed two fairways and one green in regulation.’’

The 22-year-old Parkinson, a BYU junior-to-be who won the Utah State Amateur four years ago, said the key to his victory was playing the par 5s in 8-under par over the two days. He eagled the 480-yard No. 1 hole both days and added four birdies on the other par 5s.

After making his early eagle Sunday, Parkinson rolled in four more birdie putts and was 6-under on the day through 12 holes. He was disappointed not to make any other birdies, including the par-5 16th, but the six pars were enough for the victory.

Rasmussen, who finished in a tie for third last year, finished with a 67 Sunday after a 71 in the first round. He sank a 15-foot eagle putt at No. 16 to get to 6-under for the tournament and had a chance to force a playoff at 18. However, his 10-foot birdie try missed by a couple of inches.

Another BYU golfer, Justin Keiley, and University of Utah golfer Gentry Hicks tied for third at 139 after rounds of 67 and 66, respectively, Sunday. Three golfers, Cole Ogden, Robert McRae and Dan Horner, tied at 140, while Kenny You was alone at 141.

First-round leader Jordan Bloxham could only manage a 75 and finished in a tie for ninth place at 143.

Reigning women’s state amateur champion Kelsey Chugg finished at 151, while 14-year-old Max Brenchley, who had a 69 Saturday, finished at 155.

Troy Creer was the A flight winner at 150, while Donald Wallace and Terry Treseder tied for B flight honors at 163.


Championship Flight

137 — Joe Parkinson (71-66)

138 — Rhett Rasmussen (71-67)

Comment on this story

139 — Gentry Hicks (73-66), Justin Keiley (72-67)

140 — Cole Ogden (71-69), Robert McRae (70-70), Dan Horner (71-69)

141 — Kenny You (71-70)

143 — Jordan Bloxham (68-75), James Day (72-71), Luke Crapo (73-70)

144 — Steve Croft (70-74), Nic Booth (78-66), Scott Clark (77-67)

A Flight

150 — Troy Creer

154 — Rick Groendyke, Tony Korologos

155 — Ryan Kelly

156 — Jeff Stone

B Flight

163 — Donald Wallace, Terry Treseder

167 — Dave Floor, David Schoepp, James Arnold, Jeff Campbell

168 — Brian Hedderman, John Robbins

169 — Corey Clark