1 of 4
Jeffrey D. Allred, Deseret News
Brigham Young Cougars guard Tyler Haws (3) celebrates hitting one of his three pointers down the stretch to ice the Cougar win over Pepperdine during NCAA basketball in Provo Thursday, Jan. 9, 2014. BYU won 84-72.

The WCC named BYU's Tyler Haws the Player of the Year for 2014 on Monday.

“Tyler is very deserving of this honor," BYU head coach Dave Rose said, according to the official BYU press release. "He’s had huge offensive games, he’s had an increased role defensively and he does so much to help us win games. To be the guy that everyone tries to stop every night and to be as consistent as he’s been certainly deserves this type of recognition.”

Haws, who leads the conference with 23.4 points per game, became the first BYU player to win the award since the Cougars joined the conference in 2011. He's No. 6 in the nation in points per game.

Kyle Collinsworth joined Haws on the First Team All-WCC squad after he averaged 13.6 points, 7.8 rebounds, 4.9 assists and 1.7 blocks per game for the season. The sophomore returned from his mission before this season from Russia.

“Kyle’s consistency in his line and what he does to affect the game as far as winning is concerned has been huge for us," Rose said about Collinsworth in that same press release. "He rebounds the ball, gets steals and assists and guards the toughest perimeter player. I’m pleased that the other coaches in the league have noticed his impact on the game.”

Matt Carlino received an honorable mention this season after finishing with 14.1 points, 4.6 assists, 3.6 rebounds and 1.9 steals per game, while Eric Mika was named to the WCC All-Freshman team with 12.0 points and 6.2 rebounds per game.

20 comments on this story

Haws and Collinsworth join Kevin Pangos and Sam Dower Jr. of Gonzaga, Stephen Holt and Brad Waldow of Saint Mary's, Cole Dickerson of San Francisco, Johnny Dee of San Diego and Anthony Ireland of Loyola Marymount on the WCC's First Team. Mika joined Santa Clara's Jared Brownridge, Gabe Levin and Evan Payne of Loyola Marymount and Pepperdine's Jeremy Major on the All-Freshman Team.

Pepperdine's Brenden Lane won Defender of the Year honors, while Santa Clara's Brownridge was this year's Newcomer of the Year. San Francisco head coach Rex Walters was named the WCC Coach of the Year.

Lafe Peavler is a sports writer for the Deseret News. Follow him on Twitter @LafePeavler.