Bob McLellan
Makenzie Hekking throws the ball out. She returns in goal for Westminster in 2014. The Griffins open the season at the Santa Barbara Shootout from Feb. 15-17.

The Westminster College women’s lacrosse team has a slate of 13 regular season games set for the 2014 season. The schedule includes four home games and features six teams that qualified for the 2013 WCLA DI National Championship.

For the fifth straight season, Westminster opens the year at the Santa Barbara Shootout. The Griffins open with Michigan State and Pittsburgh on Feb. 15. They will next face Santa Clara on Feb. 16, and then a yet to be announced team on Feb. 17.

Westminster’s first home game comes on March 8 when Utah State visits Dumke Field for the first of three straight games against teams from Utah. On March 15, the Griffins play at Utah Valley before a March 21 home game against Brigham Young in the RMWLL opener.

The first of two trips to Colorado comes for a neutral site game with Michigan Club on March 28 and Texas on March 29 in Boulder. The annual meeting with Utah is at Dumke Field on April 4 with Senior Day tabbed for April 6 against UCLA. The regular season comes to a close with conference games at Colorado on April 11 and defending National Champion Colorado State on April 12.

The RMWLL Tournament happens on April 18 and 19 in Salt Lake City, as Utah is the tournament host. The 16-team WCLA DI National Championships run from May 7-10 at the Princess Anne Athletic Complex and Stadium in Virginia Beach, Va.