1 of 2
Scholastic Press
"Cave of Wonders," the fifth book in the Infinity Ring series, is by Utah author Matthew J. Kirby.

INFINITY RING, Book 5: Cave of Wonders," by Matthew J. Kirby, Scholastic Press, $12.99, 187 pages (f) (ages 8-12)

Sera, Riq and Dak are the young Hystorians who, with the help of the Infinity Ring, travel from one era in time to another solving Breaks in history. In previous adventures they assisted Christopher Columbus and attended the invasion of the Vikings on Paris. They helped with the Underground Railroad during the time of American slavery and traveled to the Mayan nation.

In “Cave of Wonder” by Utah author Matthew Kirby, they find themselves in Baghdad with the task of saving the writings of Aristotle before the Mongols obliterate the city in the 13th century. Without these books found in the famous House of Wisdom, knowledge about the Breaks, or fractures in history, will occur faster than they can be remedied. Also, the Hystorians have seen the Reflections of returning to present time, which could mean other Breaks would not be fixed. Ultimately, the Earth will be destroyed in the Cataclysm.

The siege by the Mongols is fought with Dark Ages weaponry against Baghdad — the enlightened city of scholars, merchants and explorers. The intervention by the Hystorians involves some physical prowess, but mainly the skill of cleverly outwitting the Khan and his henchmen.

“Cave of Wonders” includes historical settings, combat and snappy dialogue that furthers the intrigue of this desert adventure. As in the previous four books in the series, a study guide with detailed maps and clues is attached. Infinityring.com provides games and puzzles to study the history of the upcoming book.

While each in the series can be enjoyed independently, reading them in order adds to the interest. Collectively, there is progressive character development of the young sleuths as well as clues to their friends and family while they prepare for the next assignment or Break.

Two more books in the “Infinity Ring” series will be added this fall and next spring, including one by Utah author Jennifer Nielson, author of "The False Prince."

Kirby is also the author of "The Lost Kingdom," which is also scheduled to be released on Tuesday, Aug. 27.

If you go ...

What: "The Lost Kingdom" book lauch and Matthew Kirby book signng

When: Thursday, Sept. 5, 7 p.m.

Where: The King's English, 1511 S. 1500 East, Salt Lake City

Web: kingsenglish.com, matthewjkirby.com

Note: Places in the signing line are reserved for those who purchase a copy of "The Lost Kingdom" from The King's English.

Also ...

What: Teen-apalooza book signing: Matthew Kirby, "The Lost Kingdom" and "Infinity Ring, Book 5: Cave of Wonders"; Natalie Whipple, "Transparent," J.R. Johansen, "Insomnia," B.K. Bostick, Huber Hill series; Erik Olsen, Flin's Destiny series; and Adrienne Monson, "Dissension"

When: Saturday Sept. 14, 6 p.m.

Where: Barnes and Noble, University Crossings Plaza, 330 E. 1300 South, Orem

Web: barnesandnoble.com