1 of 2
Mike Terry, Deseret News
Utah Gov.Gary R. Herbert hugs outgoing National Governors Association chairwoman Chris Gregoire on Sunday.

SALT LAKE CITY — Gov. Gary Herbert was renamed to the National Governors Association Executive Committee by the NGA chairwoman, Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin, and the NGA vice chairman, Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper.

The association is governed by the nine-member Executive Committee. Through the committee, governors set association priorities and determine activities.

Comment on this story

"My serving on the executive committee ensures Utah has a greater voice as states play a vital role in the nation's economic recovery and long-term success," Herbert said. "We work together in a bipartisan manner to share best practices, identify priority issues and develop innovative solutions to state policy challenges."

Fallin and Hickenlooper will lead the committee. Other members are Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe, Delaware Gov. Jack Markell, Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad, Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton, Montana Gov, Steve Bullock and Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker.

Founded in 1908, NGA's members are the governors of the 55 states, territories and commonwealths.