SPANISH FORK — Dwight Liddiard, principal of East Meadows Elementary School in Spanish Fork, has been selected as Utah’s 2013 National Distinguished Principal.

Liddard was nominated and selected by his fellow principals through a statewide search process conducted by the Utah Association of Elementary School Principals, said Lana Hiskey, Nebo School District’s Communications Specialist.

A graduate of BYU, Liddiard previously taught at Brockbank Elementary, served as curriculum specialist at the district office, and served as principal at Park View and Larsen elementaries. He has served as principal of East Meadows since 2006.

In October, Liddiard will travel to Washington, D.C., for two days of activities planned to honor and recognize to the elementary and middle-level educators chosen by the states, plus private and overseas schools.

Liddiard has been honored with numerous accolades including Utah’s Mentor Principal of the Year in 2011, Distinguished Principal in 2003, Instructional Leader of the Year in 2002, and Rookie Principal of the Year in 1997 by the Utah Association of Elementary School Principals. He received the Utah Reading Principal of the Year by the Utah Council of International Reading Association in 2001 and was selected as the Utah Principal Academy Fellow in 2000.