OGDEN – Four Weber State players were highlighted Monday in the Big Sky Conference’s annual all-conference selections and individual awards.

Davion Berry, a junior college transfer, was named the BSC Newcomer of the Year. The versatile, athletic guard led the Wildcats in scoring (15.1 ppg) during his first season in Ogden and started every game. Berry led the team in scoring in 13 games and eclipsed double figures 21 times.

Berry joined senior Scott Bamforth as an all-BSC first-team selection. Bamforth, who was also a first-team honoree as a sophomore, was named one of the top 50 players in WSU history. The season, the sure-handed shooter help WSU top the nation in both field goal and 3-point percentage while averaging 13.3ppg.

Center Kyle Tresnak (11.5 ppg and 5.6 rpg) was named second-team and senior Frank “Mook” Otis (8.8 ppg and 6.0 rpg) received honorable-mention honors.

Selections were based on votes cast by the 11 BSC coaches.

Comment on this story

Montana’s junior Kareem Jamar was recognized as the Big Sky MVP and teammate Will Cherry was named Defensive Player of the Year. Weber State held Jamar, who regularly flirted with triple-doubles, to his season-low four points on 1-of-5 shooting with five fouls in its 87-63 win over the Grizzlies in Ogden.

Eastern Washington’s Venky Jois earned Freshman of the Year.

North Dakota’s Troy Huff, Northern Colorado’s Derrick Barden and Northern Arizona’s Gabe Rogers joined Berry, Bamforth, Jamar and Cherry as first-teamers.

Southern Utah’s Jackson Stevenett and Damon Heuir, North Dakota’s Aaron Anderson, Montana’s Mathias Ward and Northern Colorado’s Tate Unruh accompanied Tresnak on the second team.

Email: tphibbs@desnews.com

Twitter: @tphibbsami