Utah State women's basketball players Devyn Christensen, Jennifer Schlott and Jenna Johnson all earned all-Western Athletic Conference honors Monday as voted on by the league's 10 coaches. Senior guard Devyn Christensen earned her second-straight first-team honor, while junior guard Jennifer Schlott and senior guard Jenna Johnson were named to the second and third teams, respectively. Johnson was also named to the league's all-defensive team.

Christensen (Caldwell, Idaho) is just the second Utah State player to earn first-team all-WAC honors two-straight seasons. Christensen ended WAC action fourth in the league in scoring (18.3 ppg) and first in free throw percentage (.912). Overall, the senior is third in scoring, averaging 19.8 ppg. She also is first in free throw percentage (.923), which would break her own WAC record that she set last season (.898).

Schlott (Mesa, Ariz.) earned her first all-WAC honor after being named to the second team. Schlott had a breakout season, ending conference play sixth in the league in scoring, averaging 16.0 ppg. She was also second in assists (4.89 apg), second in free throw percentage (.852) and ninth in steals (1.89 spg). In league contests, she scored in double figures in 16 of the 18 games.

Johnson (Wasilla, Alaska) was named to the third team. She was seventh in the WAC in scoring with 15.7 ppg and fourth in rebounding with 8.7 rpg. The senior ended WAC action tied for first in steals with San Jose State's Ta'Rea Cunnigan, averaging 2.72 spg. She has recorded three 20-point games this season.

Johnson earned her first spot on the WAC's all-defensive team, becoming the fourth Aggie to do so after Ashlee Brown (2012). Alice Coddington was honored twice (2010, 2011) and Snelgro earned the award in 2009. The senior guard is tied for first in steals (49) and steals per game (2.72 spg).

With the addition of Schlott and Johnson, Utah State has now had seven different players earn all-WAC honors. Amber White was named to the all-WAC second-team in 2010, while Ana Pares earned second-team honors in 2009 to go along with Brown, Christensen and Snelgro.

This is the first time that Utah State has had three players earn all-WAC honors in the same season.

Five different schools are represented on the first team. Joining Christensen is Idaho's Alyssa Charlston, Seattle's Kacie Sowell, San Jose State’s Cunnigan and Texas State’s Diamond Ford.

Sowell earned WAC Player of the Year honors, while New Mexico State's Stefanie Gilbreath earned WAC Newcomer of the Year. Seattle's Joan Bonvicini was named WAC Coach of the Year in the Redhawks first year in the league.

College Sports Madness also announced its all-WAC team with Christensen earning WAC Player of the Year honors, as well as first-team honors. Johnson was also named to the College Sports Madness second team.

The Aggies finished the regular season with a 17-12 record, including a 14-4 WAC mark. The 14 WAC victories for USU is the most wins in a season since joining the league for the 2005-06 season.

The WAC Tournament will be held March 12-16 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nev. Utah State will take on the winner of the game between seventh-seeded Denver and 10th-seeded UT Arlington on Wednesday, March 13 at 3:30 p.m. (MT). This is the second-straight time the Aggies have been the second seed in the WAC Tournament.

2012-13 All-Western Athletic Conference Teams

First Team All-WAC: Alyssa Charlston, Idaho, P, 6-foot-1, Jr., Sammamish, Wash. (Eastlake); Devyn Christensen, Utah State, G, 5-6, Sr., Caldwell, Idaho (Vallivue); Ta’Rea Cunnigan, San Jose State, G, 5-9, So., Winchester, Calif. (Chaparral); Diamond Ford, Texas State, G, 5-9, Sr., Houston, Texas (Hightower); Kacie Sowell, Seattle U, P, 6-2, Jr., Ventura, Calif. (Buena)

Second Team All-WAC: Whitney Frazier, Louisiana Tech, F, 6-1, So., El Dorado, Ark. (El Dorado); Stefanie Gilbreath, New Mexico St., G, 6-1, Sr., Katy, Texas (Cinco Ranch); Jennifer Schlott, Utah State, G, 5-6, Jr., Mesa, Ariz. (Mountain View); Sylvia Shephard, Seattle U, G, 5-10, Jr., Alta Loma, Calif. (Alta Loma); Emiko Smith, Denver, G, 5-5, Sr., Los Angeles, Calif. (Windward School)

Third Team All-WAC: Stacey Barr, Idaho, G, , 5-8, , So., Melbourne, Australia (Maribyrnong); Riana Byrd, San Jose State, F, 6-1, Fr., Richmond, Calif. (Inderkum); Jenna Johnson, Utah State, G, 5-10, Sr.Wasilla, Alaska (Wasilla); Kamra King, UTSA, G, 5-6, So., Norman, Okla. (Norman); Brittany Lewis, Louisiana Tech, F, 6-2, Sr., Orange Park, Fla. (Fleming Island)

Comment on this story

All-Defensive Team: Daidra Brown, Seattle U, G, 5-6, Sr., Seattle, Wash. (John F. Kennedy Catholic); Riana Byrd, San Jose State, F, 6-1, Fr., Richmond, Calif. (Inderkum); Jenna Johnson, Utah State, G, 5-10, Sr., Wasilla, Alaska (Wasilla); Maiya Michel, Denver, F, 5-11, Jr., Loma Linda, Calif. (Summit); Sylvia Shephard, Seattle U, G, 5-10, Jr., Alta Loma, Calif. (Alta Loma)

All-Freshman Team: Riana Byrd, San Jose State, F, 6-1, Richmond, Calif. (Inderkum); Kailey Edwards, Denver, G, 5-9, Broomfield, Colo. (Legacy); Erin Peoples, Texas State, F, 6-1, Little Rock, Ark. (Parkview); Lulu Perry, Louisiana Tech, G, 5-6, Benton, La. (Benton); Christina Salvatore, Idaho, G, 5-11, Anaheim, Calif. (Canyon)

Doug Hoffman is the assistant athletic director for Utah State University Athletic Media Relations.