RIVERTON — Science teachers at South Hills Middle School have been recognized as Utah's Outstanding Science Department.

The award is presented each year by the Utah Science Teachers Association. Science departments are judged on contributions to their school, community and state, as well as student-teacher involvement and collaboration.

In addition, teacher Nancy Beckman was chosen as outstanding seventh-grade science teacher by the USTA.