TAYLORSVILLE — Brad Christopherson was appointed Wednesday to fill the vacant seat on the Taylorsville City Council, finalizing a shuffle of the city's government.

Christopherson will fill the District 3 seat vacated by Jerry Rechtenbach, the three-term councilman who ascended to take over as interim mayor when Russ Wall left midway through his second term to join Salt Lake County Mayor Ben McAdams' cabinet.

Comment on this story

Wall was named director of the restructured Salt Lake County Department of Public Works and Regional Development.

Christopherson grew up in Taylorsville and owns a law practice in the city. He was one of seven residents who applied and were interviewed for the post.

“Everything good that's happened to me in my life has happened here in Taylorsville,” Christopherson said. “I have a love of public service and believe that being involved is a duty and responsibility.” 

Christopherson is a Republican state delegate and serves on the Calvin Elementary School Community Council.

McKenzie Romero

Twitter: McKenzieRomero