Jeffrey D. Allred, Deseret News
Hawaii Warriors head coach Norm Chow watches warm ups in Provo Friday, Sept. 28, 2012.

The Mountain West Conference announced Tuesday the creation of two football divisions and a championship game for the 2013 football season. The game is set to take place on Dec. 7, 2013.

43 comments on this story

There's only one problem. BYU and Hawai'i are currently scheduled to play in Honolulu on that day in what is supposed to be the final game of the 2013 season for both BYU and the Warriors.

Hawai'i Athletic Director Ben Jay told the Honolulu Star-Advertiser, "I will have to talk to them (BYU)."

The Mountain West Conference's new football alignments place Air Force, Boise State, Utah State, Wyoming, Colorado State and New Mexico in the Mountain Division. Fresno State, Hawaii, San Jose State, San Diego State, UNLV and Nevada will be placed in the West division.

The two divisions are for football purposes only and do not apply to any other sport.

Landon Hemsley is the sports content manager for Email: Twitter: @EarlOfHemsley