Tom Smart, Deseret News
Utah State Aggies running back and game MVP Kerwynn Williams (25) runs for a touchdown as Utah State University defeatsToledo 41-15 as they play football in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl Saturday, Dec. 15, 2012,in Boise, Idaho.

The Mountain West Conference announced the creation of two football divisions and a conference championship game beginning in the 2013-14 academic year.

The league formed two football divisions based on common geographic regions and traditional rivalries, while also creating the first MWC football championship game.

The new football alignments will feature Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming in the Mountain Division and Fresno State, Hawaii, Nevada, San Diego State, San Jose State and UNLV in the West Division. Each team will play five divisional games and three cross-divisional games each year.

The inaugural MWC football championship game will be played Dec. 7, 2013 at the home stadium of the team with the highest BCS ranking.

The creation of two divisions is football only and will not affect other sports.