For new readers: During the regular season, Felt’s Facts is identifying the golden era in football for almost every high school, excluding a few that are too new, or were too short-lived, to have developed much history. Ten or so active schools are randomly selected each week, with one or two discontinued programs thrown in for good measure. In addition, identifying All-State MVPs and/or first-team All-State players was not part of the criteria in determining the Golden Years for any school. The selected years were based on team accomplishments. Listing players was an afterthought — they were included and recognized as top players from each school’s Golden Years.

This week: Box Elder, Cedar, Cyprus, Davis, Hinckley, Layton Christian, Monticello, Notre Dame, Ogden, Park City and South Sevier.

Box Elder — 1933-1946: Under Earl Ferguson, Utah’s longest tenured coach, the Bees relished state championships in 1935, ’45 and ’46 with undefeated seasons and captured seven region titles. BE appeared in four additional state championship contests. The Bees won nearly 80 percent of their games over 14 years, going 84-20-7. Box Elder engineered a state-record four consecutive undefeated, untied regular seasons from 1933-36. Vernon Egbert (’33-35) garnered All-State status three times, while Frank Moyed (’36-37) placed twice. All-State gridders Wally Braegger (’35), Non Johnson (’46) and Elwin Peterson (’45) stood out on championship teams.

Cedar — 1949-1962: The Redmen took home region hardware six times in their first 14 years of 11-man football under Glen Jackson and Harold Norton. Cedar advanced to the finals twice and posted an 82-27-2 record. Jerry Frame (’53-54) made the All-State team twice, and Gary Anderson (’58), Danny Lindsay (’60) and Norman Prince (’52) also represented Cedar as All-State players.

Cyprus — 1947-1949: Just three years removed from their only state championship, the Pirates collected back-to-back region titles in ’47 and ’48 and advanced to the finals both years. Al Mercer directed Cyprus to a 25-4 record and over a span of 18 games, held opponents to a touchdown or less — and posted 10 shutouts. All told, Pirate foes scored in double-digits only four times in 29 contests. The ’47 team outscored its opponents 262-18, and in ’48, outpointed the opposition 260-72. Leland Chapman (’47), John Fraser (’48), Jack Frazier (’48), Lee Johnson (’47) and Doug Thurman (’47) were Cyprus standouts on the All-State team.

Davis — 1972-1992: Dart fans celebrated state championships in 1974 and ’76 and saw their trophy case filled with 15 region trophies, including seven straight from 1979-85. Jay Cullimore (to ’78), Ward Sawley (’79-83) and Jim Dickson (’84 on) guided Davis to a 177-62 record, including five double-digit win seasons, and six additional championship-game appearances. Tony Frazier (’74) and Jim Hess (’76) led the Darts as All-State MVPs.

Hinckley — 1928-1930: The Mustangs won three consecutive region titles and compiled an 11-3-3 record. Hinckley played one game in 1920, then a full slate from 1925-40 and 1947-1951. Between 1941-46, the Mustangs participated in the six-man version.

Layton Christian — 2011: Under Will Hawes, the Eagles advanced to the finals for the first time and set a school-record by winning five straight games. Six of LCA’s 15 all-time All-State gridders played in ’11: Brandon Faison, Colin Greenhill, Quincy Mason, Eliyah Mayberry, Duce Namazi and Kyle Yockey.

Monticello — 2001-2005: State championships in 2001 and ’04 and a region title in ’05 highlight this stretch for the Buckaroos. Over Mike Bowring’s last three years, Seth Giddings’ only season and J.C. Hall’s first, Monticello raced to a 54-8 (.871) record. The Bucks also posted a school-record four double-digit win seasons and their only undefeated campaign — 13-0 — in 2001. Clint Adams (’01), Reed Anderson (’04), Kyle Curtis (’01) and Scott Toomey (’04) achieved All-State MVP recognition.

Notre Dame — 1958-1960: The Irish went 13-6-2 over three seasons and Frank Felice grabbed All-State honors in 1959. Notre Dame, in Price, competed in football for 15 years, from 1955-69.

Ogden — 1958-1967: During Chris Apostol’s last two seasons, Norris Johansen’s five years and Wilf Christensen’s first three, the Tigers won a pair of state titles and four region crowns. Capped by 11-0 seasons in ’58 and ’66, Ogden’s only undefeated, untied campaigns, the Tigers roared to a 73-19-4 record. Ogden twice enjoyed school-record 12-game winning streaks and the ’58 team shut out seven of 11 opponents. Bob McConnell and Bruce Samples made the All-State team for 1958, while Jack Brown, Larry Cole, Paul Fraughton and Ron Lynce represented the ’66 title squad. In addition, Henry Owens (’62-63) was a two-time All-State player.

Park City — 1979-1983: The Miners wore region crowns from 1980-83 and advanced to the championship once and the semifinals three other times. Robert Burns coached Park City to 21 shutouts in 54 games en route to a 41-13 record. The Miners lost just eight regular-season contests in five years. They also won 10 straight games, a school record, in 1983 (later matched in 2006 and ’09). Troy Packard (’80-81) and Steve Toly (’80-81) were two-time All-State honorees.

1 comment on this story

South Sevier — 1971-1974:The Rams fought their way to region championships all four years, made two semifinal appearances and won 26 games under Richard Orr. The ’72 squad won a school-high nine contests. Brent Roberts (’71-72) became a two-time All-State player, while Kevin Burr (’72), Terry Bybee (’73), Mike Carr (’73), Don Farnsworth (’72), Wayne Mills (’72) and Dave Farley (’74) also appeared on All-State teams.

Felt’s Facts welcomes questions — email