Shane Truskolaski/UVU Athletics
UVU's Goose Kallunki has been named a Dick Howser Trophy semifinalist.

OREM, Utah -- Utah Valley University's Goose Kallunki has been named a semifinalist for the 2012 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations, in a list announced on Friday by the National College Baseball Writers Association.

The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

This is the 26th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, Neb., the home of the College World Series for the second year.

The award will be presented on Friday, June 15 at 11 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2012 CWS.

Kallunki received the NCBWA National Hitter of the Week award on May 7 and is also a two-time Collegiate Baseball "Louisville Slugger" National Player of the Week, two time honoree and was also twice named to the College Baseball Hall of Fame's National All-Star Lineup.

He led Utah Valley to a 32-game win streak — the longest streak in the nation in 2012 and the fourth-longest streak in NCAA history — that spanned from March 23 to May 15. Kallunki leads all Division I players with 78 RBIs and is among the nation's leaders in batting (.419), home runs (16), slugging (.739), hits (85) and total bases (150).

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and Major League Baseball player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Howser's life.

Dick Howser Award Semifinalists Mark Appel, P, Stanford; Robert Benincasa, RP, Florida State; Sean Bignall, OF, Arkansas-Little Rock; Trent Blank, P, Baylor; Austin Elkins, 2B, Dallas Baptist; Marty Gantt, OF, College of Charleston; Marco Gonzales, UT, Gonzaga; Andrew Heaney, P, Oklahoma State; Brock Hebert, 2B, Southeastern Louisiana; D.J. Hicks, 1B, UCF; Goose Kallunki, 1B, Utah Valley; Daniel Kassouf, DH, Appalachian State; Stefan Lopez, RP, Southeastern Louisiana; Michael Lorenzen, UT, Cal State Fullerton; Josh Ludy, C, Baylor; Luke Maile, C, Kentucky; Jamodrick McGruder, 2B, Texas Tech; Trenton Moses, 3B, Southeast Missouri; Chris O’Grady, RP, George Mason; D.J. Petersen, 3B, New Mexico; Nick Petree, P, Missouri State; Kevin Plawecki, C, Purdue; Danny Poma, OF, Hofstra; James Ramsey, OF, Florida State; Matthew Reckling, P, Rice; Carlos Rodon, P, NC State; Chris Rowley, P, Army; Raph Rhymes, OF, LSU; Zach Stephens, 1B, Tennessee Tech; Chris Stratton, P, Mississippi State; Ross Stripling, P, Texas A&M; Michael Wacha, P, Texas A&M; Michael Wagner, RP, San Diego; Alex Yarbrough, 2B, Ole Miss; Mike Zunino, C, Florida.

Clint Burgi is the assistant athletic director for sports information at Utah Valley University. For more information on Wolverine athletics, visit