SALT LAKE CITY — Six Utah students have been named as semifinalists in the United States Presidential Scholars Program.

Stephen Ward of Bountiful High School, Skylar Goldman of Park City High School, Shelby Jorgensen of the Utah County Academy of Sciences, Andrew Johnson of Riverton High School, Nikolaos Liodakis of Hillcrest High School and Malia Stephens of the Academy for Math, Engineering & Science in Sandy were named.

Two of the students, one male and one female, will be announced as the state's Presidential Scholars in May and will be invited to an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 and honors up to 141 students each year for excellence in education. Finalists are selected from more 3,000 candidates nationwide based on exceptional SAT or ACT scores, or through nomination via the national YoungArts program.

Benjamin Wood