Eugene Tanner, Associated Press
Utah State guard Funaki Asisi (76), Havea Lasike (57) and Al Lapuaho (77) along with the rest of the Utah State football team celebrate their 35-31 win of Hawaii with their fans at the end of a NCAA college football game Saturday, Nov. 5, 2011, in Honolulu.

Utah State football celebrated its milestone 2011 season with an end of the year banquet Friday night at the Riverwoods Conference Center in Logan.

With the “voice of the Aggies,” radio play-by-play announcer Al Lewis as master of ceremonies, everyone in attendance watched the season highlight video.

The 2011 seniors were honored with a video, then academic all-Western Athletic Conference and all-WAC honors were presented before the team awards were announced and presented. After the team awards, Coach Andersen made closing remarks.

At the banquet, players and team personnel were presented with their rings honoring the 2011 season, which included a berth in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl. The players were also given their 2011 home jerseys.

2011 Utah State Football Team Awards

Scout Offensive MVP’s: Taani Fiailau and Jorden Mattinson

Scout Defensive MVP’s: Jefferson Court and Jordan Nielsen

Most Improved Offense: DJ Tialavea

Most Improved Defense: Levi Koskan

Comeback Players of the Year: Matt Austin and Stanley Morrison

Iron Aggie (Strength and Conditioning): Michael Smith

Special Teams MVP: Chris Harris

Defensive MVP: Kyle Gallagher

Offensive MVP: Robert Turbin

Team MVP: Bobby Wagner

Scout Team Offensive MVP honors was also shared between offensive linemen Taani Fisilau and Jorden Mattinson while the Scout Team Defensive MVP award was split between linebacker Jefferson Court and defensive lineman Jordan Nielsen.

Utah State posted a historic season with a 7-6 record, its first seven-win season since 1993, capping its season with its first bowl appearance since 1997 with a trip to the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl, losing to Ohio in a 24-23 thriller. Five of USU’s losses were by one score or less, and 10 of the Aggies’ games were decided by one score this season which are the most in the nation.

Doug Hoffman is the assistant athletic director for Utah State University Athletic Media Relations.