The Utah State Bar honored four lawyers, five judges and one law firm for their service during the bar's 58th annual meeting this weekend.

James B. Lee was honored as the Lawyer of the Year, Ellen Maycock was named the Distinguished Lawyer for Service to the Bar, and Utah Supreme Court Justice Michael D. Zimmerman was named Appellate Court Judge of the Year.Third District Judge J. Dennis Frederick was honored as District Court Judge of the Year, 3rd Circuit Judge Michael L. Hutchings was named as Circuit Court Judge of the Year, and 7th District Juvenile Court Judge Paul C. Keller was named as Juvenile Court Judge of the Year.

David L. Deisley was given the Distinguished Pro Bono Service Award for his volunteer legal service. The Salt Lake law firm of Edwards and McCoy received the Pro Bono Law Firm of the Year Award for the high percentage of firm members who participated in the pro bono law program throughout the year.

Christopher C. Fuller received the Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year Award, and 2nd District Judge John F. Wahlquist received the bar's Outstanding Service Award.

Lee has served as president of the Salt Lake City law firm Parsons, Behle and Latimer since 1979. He is a member of the board of directors of the Utah Foundation, the Governor's Commission on Tax Recodification and the bar's Professional Liability Committee and Legislative Affairs Committee.

Maycock is co-chairwoman of the bar's Continuing Legal Education Advisory Committee and has served on the Ethics and Discipline Committee. She is a director and shareholder in the Salt Lake City law firm of Kruse, Landa and Maycock.

Zimmerman was appointed to the Utah Supreme Court in 1984 by Gov. Scott Matheson and has served as a clerk to U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice Warren E. Burger. He is vice chairman of the Utah Judicial Council and chairman of the bar's Committee on Program Development for the Utah Law and Justice Center.

Frederick is chairman of the Utah Judicial Committee of Rule 4.1, Rules of Practice and served on the Utah State Division of Corrections Recodification Committee Task Force. Before his appointment to the 3rd District Court in 1982, he was deputy district attorney for the 3rd District.

Hutchings was appointed to his position at the age of 29, the youngest person ever appointed to Utah's Circuit Court bench. Prior to his appointment, he was West Valley City prosecuting attorney. He has served as a member of the Utah State Bar Arbitration Committee and the Utah Bar Journal Committee.

Keller has served three terms as state presiding judge and chairman of the Board of Juvenile Court Judges. He was first appointed to the Juvenile District Court in 1962. He served for seven years as the judge of the Ute Indian Tribal Juvenile Court at Fort Duchesne from 1968 to 1975, while also serving as a state judge.

Deisley was admitted to the Utah State Bar in 1983 after graduating from the University of Utah College of Law where he was executive editor of the Utah Law Review. He is a member of the natural resources section of Parsons, Behle and Latimer.

Fuller is a member of the law firm of Snow, Christensen and Martineau and was previously a law clerk in the Utah attorney general's office for the Division of Tax and Business Regulation.

Wahlquist is retiring from the bench following 35 years of service. He is a 1949 graduate of the U. College of Law. He was appointed to the Ogden City Court in 1954 and then elected to the 2nd District Court the same year. Wahlquist wrote the initial law that created the Utah Court Administration System.