The Miami Heat traded their first pick in the NBA expansion draft today for Dallas' first-round choice in next Tuesday's college draft.

The Heat made six deals with existing teams in consideration for picking or not picking a player off the unprotected list.The other expansion team, the Charlotte Hornets, selected Dell Curry of Cleveland with the No. 2 expansion draft pick.

Miami selected Billy Thompson from the champion Los Angeles Lakers with its third pick and acquired a 1991 or 1992 second-round pick in exchange for not selecting 41-year-old Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

With the fifth pick of the draft, the Heat selected Fred Roberts of Boston and acquired a second-round pick this year in exchange for not selecting veteran Dennis Johnson. Roberts later was traded to Milwaukee for a second-round pick in 1989.

Curry, Dave Hoppen of Golden State, Washington's Tyrone Bogues, Chicago's Mike Brown, Rickey Green of Utah, Michael Holton of Portland, Michael Brooks of Denver, Bernard Thompson of Phoenix, Ralph Lewis of Detroit, Clinton Wheeler of Indiana and Sedric Toney of New York were selected by Charlotte. Brown then was traded to Utah for Tripucka.

Miami, in addition to Dallas' pick, No. 20 overall, in the first round of the college draft, acquired the rights to Arvid Kramer, who played eight games in the NBA for Denver in 1979-80 before playing the next eight years in Europe. Miami got the draft pick in exchange for not picking Steve Alford, Bill Wennington or Uwe Blab, who also reportedly were on Dallas' unprotected list.

Miami took Scott Hastings of Atlanta, Jon Sundvold of San Antonio, Kevin Williams of Seattle, Hansi Gnad of Philadelphia, Darnell Valentine of the Los Angeles Clippers, Dwayne "Pearl" Washington of New Jersey, Andre Turner of Houston, Conner Henry of Sacramento and John Stroeder of Milwaukee.

The other deals by Miami included a 1988 second-round pick from Seattle in addition to Williams, and a trade of Valentine to Cleveland for a second-round pick in 1990 or '92.

The former All-Stars available: Denver's Calvin Natt, Marques Johnson and Norm Nixon of the Clippers, New Jersey's Otis Birdsong, Andrew Toney of Philadelphia, Walter Davis of Phoenix and Tripucka.