Thirty-six NBA players can sign with new teams tonight without their old clubs receiving compensation.

The new labor agreement between league and union allows players who have been in the NBA seven or more years to sign with a new club without compensation to their old teams.Among those eligible will be Artis Gilmore and Bill Walton of the Boston Celtics, Milwaukee's Sidney Moncrief and Washington's Moses Malone.

Another 54 players also will become free agents, but their old clubs still will be eligible for compensation if they sign with a new team.

Besides Gilmore, Walton, Moncrief and Malone, other unrestricted free agents are Wayne Rollins, Rory Sparrow, Elston Turner, Brad Davis, Danny Schayes, Mike Evans, James Edwards, World B. Free, Alan Leavell, Louis Orr, Earl Cureton, Larry Drew, Wes Matthews, Kurt Rambis, John Lucas, Dudley Bradley, Orlando Woolridge, Kevin McKenna, Mike O'Koren, Danny Vranes, Caldwell Jones, Alvan Adams, Walter Davis, Jeff Cook, Maurice Lucas, Mike Woodson, Mike Mitchell, Kurt Nimphius, Tom Chambers, Clemon Johnson, Frank Johnson and Charles Jones.

Among the second group are Milwaukee's Randy Breuer; Byron Scott and Tony Campbell of the Lakers; Chicago's Sam Vincent; Boston's Reggie Lewis and Dirk Minniefield; Houston's Andre Turner; Sacramento's Otis Thorpe and Michael Jackson; Seattle's Dale Ellis, and New Jersey's John Bagley and Duane Washington.