1 of 6
Scott G Winterton, Deseret News
Virginia running back Kevin Parks (25) is brought down by Brigham Young linebacker Manoa Pikula (22) and others s BYU and Virginia to play Saturday, Sept. 20, 2014, at LaVell Edwards Stadium in Provo.

Six football players from Utah State, BYU and Utah were named to the 145-player Lombardi Award watch list.

Utah State linebackers Kyler Fackrell and Nick Vigil joined BYUs senior defensive end Bronson Kaufusi, senior linebacker Manoa Pikula and sophomore offensive lineman Tejan Koroma, while Utah junior defensive end Hunter Dimick was also recognized.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-American honors, being named to their respective all-conference teams or receiving 2015 preseason honors.

The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List will be updated prior to the start of the 2015 season to identify other players who have received significant preseason honors.

The watch list is intended as a reference tool for the selection committee and will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 semifinalists for 2015. The list includes Arizona junior linebacker Scooby Wright III, the 2014 Rotary Lombardi Award winner.

The 46th Rotary Lombardi Award ceremony will be held Dec. 9, 2015, at the Bayou Music Center in Houston, Texas. Proceeds from the Rotary Lombardi Awards stay in the Houston community and benefit the American Cancer Society, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Centers/Childrens Cancer Hospital and Texas Childrens Cancer Center.

The Butkus Award Watch List includes candidates from 35 universities and eight conferences. It includes returning finalist and 2012 high school Butkus Award winner Jaylon Smith of Notre Dame and four returning semifinalists: Alabamas Reggie Ragland, UCLAs Myles Jack, Georgias Jordan Jenkins and Oklahomas Eric Striker.

A selection panel of 51 coaches, evaluators and journalists will narrow the Butkus Award field by private ballot. Semifinalists will be named Nov. 2, finalists on Nov. 23 and winners will be notified on or before Dec. 8.