Associated Press
Jacqueline Seifriedsberger, center, poses with second placer Anette Sagan, left, and third placer Sarah Hendrickson of Park CIty after winning a women's World Cup ski jump event.

SAPPORO, Japan — Sarah Hendrickson of Park City climbed back onto the podium finishing third in a FIS Ski Jumping World Cup in Sapporo that was plagued by erratic wind. Austrian Jaqueline Siefreidsberger picked up her career first victory with the win. Park City's Lindsey Van was eighth. The series now heads to Zao, Japan for a pair of events next weekend.

FREESTYLE SKI CROSS: At Grashehren, Germany, Tamas Kraus of the Czech Republic won a freestyle World Cup ski cross event on Sunday, while Alex Fiva of Switzerland retained the overall lead despite finishing sixth.

Kraus beat Canadian Tristan Tafel in the final. Sweden's Victor Oehling Norberg was third.

With five events remaining, Fiva has 424 points overall, one more than compatriot Armin Niederer, who cut the gap by finishing fourth. Kraus is third overall, followed by Canadian Brady Leman and American John Teller.

Ophelie David of France won the women's event, with Germany's Christina Manhard in second place and another Frenchwoman, Marielle Berger Sabbatel, third.

Fanny Smith of Switzerland maintained her overall lead despite finishing 13th. Smith has 416 points, with David on 371 and Canada's Kelsey Serwa on 301.

SKI JUMPING: Sapporo, Japan, Austria's Jacqueline Seifriedsberger won her first women's World Cup ski jump event of the season on Sunday, denying local favorite and overall leader Sara Takanashi of Japan a win at home.

Seifriedsberger had jumps of 94 and 93 meters for 245.7 points to finish ahead of Norway's Anette Sagan, who had 241 points after jumps of 93 and 99 meters.

Defending overall World Cup champion Sarah Hendrickson of the United States finished third with 240.2 points after jumps of 93.5 and 87.5.

BOBSLED: At St. Moritz, Switzerland, Maximilian Arndt led Germany to a four-man bobsled world title Sunday, and defending champion Steven Holcomb of the United States took bronze.

Arndt and his crew of Marko Huebenbecker, Alexander Roediger and Martin Putze won by 0.47 seconds over silver medalist Alexander Zubkov of Russia, who led after the opening two runs Saturday.

Olympic champion Holcomb trailed 0.59 behind Arndt's combined four-run time of 4 minutes, 20.67 seconds on the Olympia track.

Zubkov won a world silver medal for a third time.