SALISBURY, N.C. — Brad Rock of the Deseret News and Bill Riley of ESPN 700AM have been named Utah's Sportswriter and Sportscaster of the Year for 2012. The announcement was made Thursday by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. Riley is a first-time honoree, while Rock is a five-time winner.

Other Utah finalists included sportscasters Dane Greene (ABC4) and Gordon Monson (1280 The Zone), as well as sportswriters Dirk Facer (Deseret News) and Kurt Kragthorpe (Salt Lake Tribune).

State winners from across the country will be honored along with Hall of Fame inductees Dick Vitale and Mitch Albom, plus national honorees Dan Patrick and Peter King, at the 54th annual NSSA Awards Weekend in Salisbury, N.C., June 8-10.