1 of 2
John F. Rhodes, AP
BYU quarterback Riley Nelson (13) looks for an open receiver against Tulsa during the first quarter of the Armed Forces Bowl NCAA college football game on Friday, Dec. 30, 2011, in Dallas. BYU won 24-21. (AP Photo/John F. Rhodes)

FORT WORTH, Texas — BYU senior quarterback Riley Nelson was named to the 2012 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award watch list on Wednesday. The list is compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee and includes 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season.

Nelson, who was also recently named to the Maxwell Award watch list for the nation's most outstanding player, guided BYU to a 6-1 record as a starter in 2011 and helped the Cougars achieve their fifth 10-win season in the last six years.

Nelson, who prepped at Logan High, passed for 1,717 yards and 19 touchdowns while rushing for 392 yards and one score in 2011. His pass efficiency rating of 152.93 was No. 16 in the country last year and helped BYU finish the year as the No. 5 team in the country in third-down conversions.

BYU quarterbacks have won the Davey O'Brien Award four times, more than any other school in the country. Jim McMahon won the inaugural award in 1981 and Steve Young earned the honor in 1983. Ty Detmer is one of only three players to be a two-time winner (1990 and 1991) of the Davey O'Brien Award.

Seven 2011 semifinalists are included on the 2012 Watch List: Matt Barkley (USC), Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Seth Doege (Texas Tech), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Keith Price (Washington), Denard Robinson (Michigan) and Tyler Wilson (Arkansas).

2012 Davey O'Brien Watch List

Ryan Aplin, Arkansas State, Sun Belt

Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Tyler Bray, Tennessee, SEC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East

Alex Carder, Western Michigan, MAC

Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC

B.J. Daniels, USF, Big East

Seth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12

Cody Fajardo, Nevada, MWC

James Franklin, Missouri, SEC

Mike Glennon, N.C. State, ACC

Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12

Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12

EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten

AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Riley Nelson, BYU, Independent

Casey Pachall, TCU, Big 12

Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12

Sean Renfree, Duke, ACC

Bryn Renner, North Carolina, ACC

Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten

Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois, Big Ten

Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12

Trent Steelman, Army, Independent

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech, ACC

Jeff Tuel, Washington St, Pac-12

James Vandenberg, Iowa, Big Ten

Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, SEC