Ravell Call, Deseret News
Davis goalie Mitch Jensen makes a save as Davis High School faces Brighton High School in the boy's 5A state high school soccer championship in Sandy, Thursday, May 24, 2012.

NOTE: The Deseret News picks the MVPs, but the remainder of the all-state teams are based on coaches votes.

Mr. Soccer

Tyler Murdock, Weber, F, Sr.

When he shoots, he scores. Murdock is a classic finisher, leading 5A with 26 goals.


Mitch Jensen, Davis, GK, Sr.

Kept the Darts' run alive en route to the 5A state title. Unyielding with 12 shutouts.

5A First Team


Jeromy Heward, Viewmont, Sr. — Finished with 19 goals

Matthew Coffey, Brighton, Jr. — Fancy footwork and 12 goals

Mitch Parkinson, Davis, Jr. — Sealed the 5A state title, 11 goals

Taylor Fankhauser, Brighton, Sr. — Veteran leader with 11 goals


Skyler Milne, Brighton, Sr. — Key presence, 12 goals

Jesse Molina, Copper Hills, Sr. — Outmaneuvered his opponents

John Taylor, Davis, Sr. — Integral veteran leader, 13 goals

Parker Dixon, Weber, Sr. — Glue in the middle, agile versatility


Wesley Crump, Lehi, Sr. — Unyielding and strong defender

Colby Wight, Weber, Sr. — Quick and scrappy defender

Trevor Obray, Layton, Sr. — Stalwart and athletic in the back

Scott Felsted, Davis, Sr. — Key component of Darts' success


Joe Wheelwright, Weber, So. — Aided in 9 impressive shutouts

Kaden Killpack, Lone Peak, Sr. — Huge presence in the net

5A Second Team


Seth Fankhauser, Brighton., Jr.

Kenny Gordon, Weber., Sr.

Devin Farnes, Davis, Sr.

Carlos Sanchez, West., Sr.

Cameron McLaughlin, Lone Peak, Sr.


Nick Thiros, Layton., Jr.

Dylan Brog, Brighton., Jr.

Luis Vargas, Copper Hills., Fr.

Jayden Bybee, Weber., Jr.


Riley Hale, Lone Peak., Sr.

Taylor Flitton, Davis., Sr.

Tyler Allison, Lone Peak., Jr.

Adrian Sanchez, Copper Hills., Sr.

Connor Sheffield, Alta., Jr.


A.J. Snell, Alta., Sr.

Tanner Henrie, Viewmont., Sr.

Kolton Savage, Brighton., Jr.

5A Honorable Mention

Peter Funaro, Jordan; Matthew Jeffs, Copper Hills; Brody Berry, Lone Peak; Ryan Crowther, Taylorsville; Sam Erekson, Bingham; Anthony Dib, Bingham; Bryce Child, Weber; Patrick Fuchs, Lehi; Taylor Kunz, Weber; Daniel Baggaley, Brighton; Taylor Watkins, Lehi; Braden Vawdrey, Lone Peak; Spencer Hanson, Copper Hills; Braden Smith, Lehi; Zachary Dixon, Weber.