Ravell Call, Deseret News
Blaze Nelson of Olympus gets the header against Murray during the boy's 4A state high school soccer championship in Sandy, Thursday, May 24, 2012.

NOTE: The Deseret News picks the MVPs, but the remainder of the all-state teams are based on coaches votes.


Blaze Nelson, Olympus, MF, Sr.

The versatile glue that held the midfield together. Orchestrated on both sides of the field.

4A First Team


Chris Reyes, Mtn. View, Sr. — Struck fear in many, 22 goals

Richard Haddock, Bountiful, Sr. — Apparent leader, 11 goals

Matt Gay, Orem, Sr. — The key to the offense, 18 goals

Ethan Cope, Woods Cross, Jr. — Big time scorer, 16 goals


Jake Miles, Springville, Sr. — Led with 7 goals as a MF

Amer Sasivarevic, Olympus, Jr. — Midfield anchor, 13 goals

Austin Buxton, Timpanogos, Sr. — Creative, incredible 18 goals

Besser Davila, Mtn. View, Sr. — Speedy and great on ball


Christian Clark, Orem, Sr. — Helped shutout opponents

Jason Cook, East, Sr. — Unparalleled speed and drive

Trase Stapley, Roy, Jr. — Hefty contribution to team's success

Q Bailey, Orem, Sr. — Speedy and knowledgeable defense


Spencer Critchfield, Murray, Sr. — Pure athleticism, 7 shutouts

Ethan Cash, Olympus, Sr. — Best attitude, 11 shutouts

4A Second Team


Alec Woolley, Mtn. View., Jr.

Christian Cardoso, Provo., Jr..

Michael Ropelato, Roy., Sr.

Leo Calquin, Woods Cross., Sr.

Stockton Larsen, Clearfield., Jr.


Clay Powell, Murray., Jr.

Payden Pemberton, Salem Hills., Sr.

Justin Ward, Woods Cross., Sr.

Jordan Augat, Herriman., Sr.

David Enciso, Timpanogos., Jr.

Benji Bonilla, Logan., Sr.


Alex Terrin, Springville., Sr.

Kyle Chance, Herriman., Jr.

Keaton Critchlow, Hillcrest., Sr.

Thomas Rodriguez, Murray., Sr.

Guillermo Gea, Mtn. View., Sr

Giovanni Vasquez, Roy., Jr.


Steve Hansen, Orem., Sr.

Gavin Van Minde, East., Jr.

4A Honorable Mention

Andrew Clayton, Murray; Jake Thomson, Orem; Jordan Erekson, Murray; Edgar Cordova, Mountain View; Kevin Augustin, Mtn. View; Austin McBride, Mountain View; Kayden Brinkerhoff, Roy; Jeff Brown, Olympus; Ace Phillips, Logan; Mitch Fowler, Orem; Kevin Augustin, Mtn. View; Gage Woodward, Bonneville; Branden Estrada, Hillcrest; Alex Souvall, Murray; Trentin Atkin, Hillcrest.