PROVO -- A Brigham Young University professor of psychology was awarded the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award, the university's top faculty honor, by President Merrill J. Bateman during the joint meeting of the annual University Conference Aug. 23.

Erin D. Bigler will deliver his lecture during the Nov. 23 BYU devotional at 11 a.m. in the Marriott Center.Bigler was honored for his remarkable mix of teaching, research and clinical practice and for his interest in combining fundamental research with the behavioral correlates of human neuropathology.

Following receipt of his Ph.D. in physiological/experimental psychology in 1974 from BYU, Bigler received postdoctoral training at the Barrow Neurological Institute of St. Joseph's Hospital in Phoenix, Arizona. After teaching at universities in Texas, he joined the BYU faculty in 1990.

Top staff members honored included Janice Foutz of Information Technology Services, who received the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award, and Irvin G. Bassett of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, who was given the Ben. E. Lewis Management Award.

University Professorships honoring distinguished senior faculty went to W. Cole Durham of the J. Reuben Clark Law School and Robert L. Marshall of the visual arts faculty.

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Awards were granted to Lora Beth Brown of the Food Science and Nutrition Department, dance professor Susanne J. Davis and James D. Stice of the School of Accountancy and Information Systems in the Marriott School.

Receiving Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Research and Creative Arts Awards were Wesley R. Burr of the Department of Family Life, visual arts professor W. Wayne Kimball, Jr., and English professor Royal Skousen.

Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorships went to Jon D. Green of the humanities, classics and comparative literature faculty, zoology professor R. Ward Rhees and English professor Sally T. Taylor.

The Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award for outstanding service to the university and community went to Clayton S. Huber of the food science and nutrition faculty, while the Wesley P. Lloyd Award for Distinction in Graduate Education went to linguist Lynn E. Henrichsen.

The 1999 Alumni Professorship Award was given to English professor Gregory D. Clark, and the Phi Kappa Phi Award went to chemistry and biochemistry professor Nolan F. Mangleson.

1999 Alcuin Fellows are Hal L. Black, zoology; Susan Cockayne, microbiology; Chad F. Emmett, geography; Thomas B. Holman, family science; A. Keith Lawrence, English; David B. Paxman, English; Martha Moffit Peacock, visual arts; and James S. Taylor, Spanish and Portuguese.

This year's Sigma Xi Lecture, the university's top science honor, will be delivered by economics professor C. Arden Pope, who will discuss "Health Effects of Air Pollution: Scientific Evidence and Controversy" March 23, 2000, at 7 p.m in the Eyring Science Center.

The Sponsored Research Award has been presented to Morris J. Robins of the chemistry and biochemistry faculty, while the annual Technology Transfer Award was presented to Larry C. Farmer and Stanley D. Neeleman of the J. Reuben Clark Law School.