Provided by Janet Roberts
Kaysville's LDS 1st Ward is celebrating its 160th Birthday Saturday, from 1-6 p.m. at the Kaysville Tabernacle. Living bishops of the Kaysville 1st Ward will be recognized at the event. From left, Bishop Ned B Roueche, 1972-1975; Bishop Max G Hirschi, 1975-1980; Bishop Larry Streadbeck, 1980-1985; Bishop Dennis L Hill, 1985-1989; Bishop Jesse R Dredge, 1989-1994; Bishop John Sheffield, 1994-1997; Bishop Wayne Huber, 1997-2002; Bishop Dean Storey, 2002-2008; Bishop Scott Simpson, 2008-present.

KAYSVILLE, Utah — One of the oldest wards in the LDS Church is about to reach a milestone.

The Kaysville 1st Ward of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is hosting an open house celebration on Saturday to commemorate the 160th anniversary of the organization of Kay’s Ward in Kaysville.

The event will be at the Kaysville Tabernacle at 198 W. Center St. from 1 to 6 p.m. All former and current members, descendants and others are invited to attend. The event will feature food, games and other activities.

Several committees began planning the party a year ago. Janet Roberts is one of the event’s organizers.

“I have loved it,” said Roberts, whose grandfather grew up in the ward. “Part of my own history is there. I’ve had an enjoyable time doing this and things have gone smoothly.”

The ward's history is full of interesting facts. President Brigham Young organized Kay’s Ward in January 1851. It was named after William Kay, the ward's first bishop. The original ward had more than 400 members and the boundaries included present-day Kaysville, Layton, Syracuse, Clearfield, West Point, Sunset, South Weber and Clinton.

The Davis LDS stake was organized in 1877.

The Kaysville Tabernacle was built and dedicated in 1914.

Before Henry H. Blood was elected as governor of Utah (1932-36), he served as bishop of the Kaysville Ward (1907-15).

The Kaysville Ward was eventually divided in 1940 to create the Kaysville 1st and 2nd Wards.

In Aug. 1949, Elder Richard L. Evans turned the first shovel of dirt at the groundbreaking ceremonies for a new church building. The cost of the new building was $130,000.

Roberts said there are plans to recognize current and former living bishops.

Ned B. Roueche (1972-75), Max G. Hirschi (1975-80), Larry Streadbeck (1980-85), Dennis L. Hill (1985-89), Jesse R. Dredge (1989-94), John Sheffield (1994-97), Wayne Huber (1997-2002), Dean Storey (2002-08) and Scott Simpson, (2008-present) are all still living in Kaysville. Six of the nine still reside the 1st Ward boundaries.

Ron Barton is another member of the celebration committee. His great-great-grandfather, John Barton, settled in Kaysville and was part of Kay’s Ward from the very beginning. John’s son, Peter Barton, presided over the ward as bishop for more than 30 years.

“It’s been a great part of my heritage and the heritage of many others in Kaysville and others scattered around the state,” Ron Barton said.

Roberts said anyone with artifacts, histories, pictures or other interesting items is invited to contact her at 801-544-3219.

Email: [email protected] Twitter: tbtoone