Utah State volleyball All-American Liz McArthur has been named one of 30 candidates for the 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, it was announced Thursday.

McArthur, a 6-foot-1 outside hitter from St. George, Utah (Snow Canyon High School), is the only player from the state of Utah and one of just two players from the Western Athletic Conference, along with Hawaii’s Kanani Danielson, to be selected for this award.

As a junior, McArthur earned honorable-mention All-American honors from the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) after being named first-team all-WAC and the Most Valuable Player of the WAC Tournament. McArthur ended the season ranked 32nd in the nation in points (4.59) and 34th in kills (4.00) per set.

McArthur, who has a 3.76 cumulative GPA in family, consumer and human development, is also a three-time academic all-WAC honoree and was named to the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-District VIII third team in 2010.

To be eligible for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence — community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2011 candidate class includes nine AVCA All-Americans and eight honorable mention All-Americans from last season. More than half of the 30 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

Lowe’s, an official corporate partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award winner during the 2011 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship, which will be played Dec. 15 and 17 in San Antonio.

Volleyball senior CLASS Award candidates

Rachael Adams, middle blocker, Texas

Kendall Bateman, setter, Southern California

Suzy Boulavsky, right side/opposite hitter, Oklahoma

Michelle Burow, middle blocker, Northern Iowa

Lane Carico, outside hitter, Miami

Kellie Catanach, setter, Duke

Lucy Charuk, middle blocker, Houston

Kanani Danielson, outside hitter, Hawaii

Sophia Dunworth, middle blocker/outside hitter, Duke

Kaylie Gibson, libero, North Carolina

Sarah Havel, middle blocker, College of Charleston

Kim Hill, middle blocker/opposite hitter, Pepperdine

Kristin Hoffman, setter, Northern Illinois

Mary Elizabeth Hooper, setter, Wichita State

Alex Hunt, outside hitter, Michigan

Kayla Jeter, outside hitter, Tennessee

Kelsey Jewasko, libero, Texas-San Antonio

Liz McArthur, outside hitter, Utah State

Kelly Murphy, setter/right side, Florida

Tarah Murrey, outside hitter, California

Dana Powell, outside hitter, Southern Methodist

Darlene Ramdin, outside/middle hitter, St. John’s (N.Y.)

Jenilee Rathje, outside/MB, Michigan State

Stacey Schmidt, right side/MB, UC-Santa Barbara

Tanya Schmidt, middle blocker, Santa Clara

Betsy Sedlak, middle blocker, UC-Davis

Kelsea Seymour, setter, Southern Mississippi

Regina Thomas, middle blocker, Mississippi

Hannah Veith, middle blocker, Robert Morris

Vineece Verdun, middle blocker, Georgia State

For more information on all the candidates, visit www.seniorCLASSaward.com.

Fans can follow USU volleyball at http://twitter.com/USUVolleyball and Utah State athletics at http://twitter.com/USUAthletics.