BYU sophomore quarterback Jake Heaps has been named to the 2011 Davey O'Brien Quarterback Award Watch list.

Heaps is one of 38 candidates, along with Stanford's Andrew Luck, Boise State's Kellen Moore, and 2009 O’Brien finalist Case Keenum of Houston.

Heaps is one of eight sophomores on the O'Brien list, along with Central Florida's Jeff Godfrey. BYU and UCF meet in Provo on Sept. 23.

45 comments on this story

Former BYU quarterbacks Jim McMahon (1981), Steve Young (1983) and Ty Detmer (1990 and 1991) have won the O'Brien Award.

Meanwhile, BYU senior running back JJ Di Luigi has been named a preseason candidate for the Doak Walker Award. He is one of 51 on the watch list for the award, emblematic of the nation's top running back. Former Cougar Luke Staley won the award in 2001.

In addition to Heaps and Di Luigi, four other Cougars have been included on preseason watch lists: offensive linemen Matt Reynolds (Outland, Lombardi), Terence Brown (Rimington), and Braden Hansen (Oultand); and linebacker Jameson Frazier (Lott).